Latest civil service & public affairs moves – June 13

Written by Dods People on 13 June 2016 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues on Dods People

Government departments

  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Melanie Hopkins has been appointed British High Commissioner to the Republic of Fiji.
  • Department for Business, Innovation and Skills: Institute for Apprenticeships – Antony Jenkins appointed as Shadow Chair.
  • Cabinet Office: UK Statistics Authority – Nora Nanayakkara and Sian Baldwin appointed as Non-Executive Board Members.
  • Department for Culture, Media and Sport: National Portrait Gallery – Rob Dickins appointed as Trustee.

House of Lords

  • Lord Hurd of Westwell (Conservative, Life Peer) retired from the House of Lords on 9th June.

National Assembly for Wales

  • UKIP Spokespeople Team
    • Neil Hamilton - Leader, Assembly Group; Spokesperson for Economy, Farming, Environment and Rural Affairs and Finance.
    • Caroline Jones - Spokesperson for Health.
    • Mark Reckless - Spokesperson for Education and Finance; Business Manager.
    • Gareth Bennett - Spokesperson for Sport and Local Government.
    • Michelle Brown - Spokesperson for Communities, Childcare and Housing.
    • David Rowlands - Spokesperson for Infrastructure and Transport.

Northern Ireland Assembly

  • Audit Committee – John O’Dowd appointed as Chair, replacing Declan McAleer.
  • Education Committee - Jennifer McCann appointed as a member, replacing Caitríona Ruane.
  • Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs Committee – William Irwin appointed as a member, replacing George Robinson.

Scottish Parliament

  • Delegated Powers and Law Reform Committee - John Scott, Rachael Hamilton, Stuart McMillan, David Torrance and Elaine Smith appointed as members.
  • Equal Opportunities Committee - Annie Wells, Jeremy Balfour, Alex Cole-Hamilton, Christina McKelvie, Willie Coffey, David Torrance and Mary Fee appointed as members.
  • European and External Relations Committee - Jackson Carlaw, Rachael Hamilton, Ross Greer, Joan McAlpine, Bruce Crawford, Richard Lochhead and Lewis Macdonald appointed as members.
  • Finance Committee - Alex Johnstone, Murdo Fraser, Adam Tomkins, Patrick Harvie, Michael Russell, Neil Bibby, Willie Coffey, James Kelly, Kate Forbes, Ivan McKee and Ash Denham appointed as members.
  • Public Audit Committee - Alison Harris, Liam Kerr, Jenny Marra, Monica Lennon, Alex Neil, Colin Beattie and Jenny Gilruth appointed as members.
  • Standards, Procedures and Public Appointments Committee - John Scott, Alexander Stewart, Patrick Harvie, Clare Adamson, Tom Arthur, Clare Haughey and Daniel Johnson appointed as members.
  • Economy, Jobs and Fair Work Committee - Gordon Lindhurst, Dean Lockhart, Liam Kerr, Andy Wightman, Ash Denham, Gordon MacDonald, Gillian Martin, John Mason, Gil Paterson, Jackie Baillie and Richard Leonard appointed as members.
  • Education and Skills Committee - Liz Smith, Ross Thomson, Tavish Scott, Ross Greer, James Dornan, Johann Lamont, Colin Beattie, Jenny Gilruth, Fulton MacGregor, Daniel Johnson and Gillian Martin appointed as members.
  • Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform Committee - Maurice Golden, Finlay Carson, Alexander Burnett, Mark Ruskell, Graeme Dey, Claudia Beamish, Kate Forbes, Angus MacDonald, David Stewart, Emma Harper and Gail Ross appointed as members.
  • Health and Sport Committee - Donald Cameron, Miles Briggs, Alex Cole-Hamilton, Alison Johnstone, Neil Findlay, Clare Haughey, Tom Arthur, Richard Lyle, Ivan McKee, Colin Smyth and Maree Todd appointed as members.
  • Justice Committee - Margaret Mitchell, Douglas Ross, Oliver Mundell, Liam McArthur, John Finnie, Rona Mackay, Mairi Evans, Mary Fee, Ben Macpherson, Fulton MacGregor and Stewart Stevenson appointed as members.
  • Local Government and Communities Committee - Graham Simpson, Andy Wightman, Bob Doris, Elaine Smith, Kenneth Gibson, Alexander Stewart and Mairi Evans appointed as members.
  • Rural Economy and Connectivity Committee - Edward Mountain, Jamie Greene, Peter Chapman, Mike Rumbles, John Finnie, Gail Ross, Rhoda Grant, Emma Harper, Stewart Stevenson, Richard Lyle and John Mason appointed as members.
  • Social Security Committee - Adam Tomkins, Gordon Lindhurst, Alison Johnstone, Sandra White, George Adam, Mark Griffin, Ruth Maguire, Pauline McNeill and Ben Macpherson appointed as members.

Scottish Government

  • Sheila Rowan to be the new Chief Scientific Adviser.

Local Authorities

  • Winchester City Council – Simon Eden resigned as Chief Executive.

By-election Results 9th June

  • Essex Council – Frank Ferguson elected for Basildon Laindon Park and Fryerns – UKIP gain from Labour.
  • Lambeth – Luke Murphy elected for Gipsy Hill – Labour hold.
  • North East Lincolnshire – Janet Goodwin elected for South – Labour hold.
  • Southwark – Dan Whitehead elected for Surrey Docks – Liberal Democrat hold.

Industry, interest groups and trade associations

  • Save the Children UK – Kevin Watkins to become Chief Executive from September.
  • Royal Highland and Agricultural Society of Scotland – Alan Laidlaw to become the new Chief Executive.
  • Association of British Insurers – Andy Briggs to become Chair from October.
  • English Apples and Pears - Steven Munday named as the new Chief Executive.
  • Hanover – Alastair Gornall named as Chair.
Author Display Name
Dods People
Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.