Latest civil service & public affairs moves — April 1

Written by Dods People on 1 April 2019 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Government departments

  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office – Alistair Burt resigned as foreign minister
  • Department of Health and Social Care –  Steve Brine has resigned as parliamentary under-secretary for public health and primary care.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy – Richard Harrington resigned as minister for business and industry. Nuclear Decommissioning Authority – Gwen Parry-Jones OBE announced as chief executive of Magnox Ltd.
  • Department for International Trade: UK Export Finance –  Rahul Tabhane appoointed as country sead for India.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: DCMS Departmental Board – Sherry Coutu has been appointed as a non-executive board member for a term of three years. Royal Armouries – trustee and interim chair Hemant Patel has had both roles extended, each for a term of six months from 2 May. Horserace Betting Levy Board – Paul Lees role as chair of the board has been extended for a one-year term from 1 April.
  • Ministry of Defence: NATO – Tim Radford has been appointed as deputy supreme allied commander Europe.

House of Parliament

  • House of Lords – Ravensdale elected as the new crossbench hereditary peer, following the death of Viscount Slim earlier this year. The Bishop of Derby joined the house on the 28 March.​
  • Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology – Professor Elizabeth Fisher to replace Professor Fran Balkwill as a board member.


  • Labour Party frontbench – Melanie Onn resigned from the Housing Team.

Devolved Authorities

  • National Assembly for Wales: UKIP – Michelle Brown AM has resigned from the party and is now sitting as an independent. Scrutiny of the First Minister – Janet Finch Saunders replaced David J Rowlands as a member.

Local authorities

  • Camden Council – Jenny Rowlands had replaced Mike Cooke as chief executive.
  • By-election Results 28 th March: Clackmannanshire Council  Jane McTaggart elected for Clackmannanshire Central  SNP hold (Phil Fairlie resigned). Sutton council – Barry Lewis elected for Wallington North – Liberal Democrat hold (Joyce Melican resigned).

Interest groups

  • Royal College of Physicians – Professor Andrew Goddard has been appointed to the NHS's new NHS Assembly.

Trade associations

  • Sharing Economy UK – Olivia Knight elected as chair for a one-year term. Fergus Campbell, Siddarth VijayaKumar and Marie Lorimer join as board members, each for a two-year term.
Author Display Name
Dods People
Image description
Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...