Latest civil service & public affairs moves — April 10

Written by Dods People on 10 April 2017 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Government departments

  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Miranda Curtis appointed as Lead Non-Executive Director, and Edward Lister as a Non-Executive Director.
    Alison Blackburne has been appointed Her Majesty's Ambassador to the Republic of South Sudan.
    Nigel Casey has been appointed British High Commissioner to South Africa.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy:
    Low Carbon Contracts Company, and the Electricity Settlements Company – Martin Read reappointed as Chair, and Jim Keohane reappointed as Senior Independent Director.
    Arts and Humanities Research Council – Andrew Thompson appointed as Chief Executive, he had been in the role on an interim basis previously.
  • Department of Health:
    NHS England – Sir Bruce Keogh to stand down as National Medical Director at the end of 2017.
    Public Health England – Daniel Bausch has been appointed Director of the new UK Public Health Rapid Support Team.​
  • Cabinet Office:
    Security Vetting Appeals Panel – James Barron, Sally Berlin, Nicholas Griffin and Claire Stokes appointed as members, replacing Sue Jarvis, Stephen Monk, Claire Smith and Robert Wright.
    Boundary Commission for England – Andrew Nicol appointed as Deputy Chair.
  • Department for Culture, Media and Sport
    National Portrait Gallery – Michael Hintze, Björn Savén, Peter Stothard and Rachel Wang appointed to the board.

Non-Ministerial Departments

  • Competition and Markets Authority – Philip Marsden appointed as senior director for Case Decision Groups; Lord Currie reappointed as chair of the board.
  • UK Statistics Authority – David Norgrove appointed as chair, replacing Andrew Dilnot.

Devolved Authorities

  • National Assembly for Wales: Neil McEvoy rejoined the Plaid Cymru assembly group.
  • Scottish Parliament: Scottish Police Authority – Grant Macrae, Matt Smith, Caroline Stuart and Robert Hayes appointed to the board.

Local Authorities

  • By-election Results 23 March: West Somerset Council – Peter Pilkington elected for Dunster & Timberscombe – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative; Herefordshire Council – Trish Marsh elected for Leominster South – Green gain from Independent


  • Financial Conduct Authority: Nick Stace appointed as a non-executive director.


  • Newgate – Sian Jones has joined as an associate partner.

Interest Groups

  • NSPCC – Simon Lande to join as director of fundraising engagement, replacing Nigel Spencer.
  • Bloodwise – Gemma Peters to become chief executive in September.
  • Queen Elizabeth’s Foundation for Disabled People – Karen Deacon appointed as chief executive.
  • Turn2Us – Jamie Grier appointed as director of development.
About the author

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs

Add new comment

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

HMRC chief Jon Thompson to head operation delivery profession

20 February 2018

Appointment means government’s biggest professional grouping will be one of only two headed up...

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...