Latest civil service & public affairs moves — April 15

Written by Dods People on 15 April 2019 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Government departments

  • Cabinet Office: Government Property Agency  Steven Boyd to become chief executive on 10 June.
  • Department for Transport: HS2 Ltd – Judith Hackitt and Stephen Hughes appointed to the board as non-executive directors.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: UK Space Agency –  Sally Howes replaced David Southwood as chair. Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service – Mike Clancy reappointed as a member.
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Bank of England Financial Policy Committee – Anil Kashyap reappointed as a member. Bank of England Monetary Policy Committee – Michael Saunders reappointed as a member.
  • Northern Ireland Office: Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission – Les Allamby reappointed as the chief commissioner.
  • Department for Work and Pensions: BPDTS Ltd – Mal Singh has been appointed as finance director and a board member.
  • Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government: Homes England – Brian McIntyre named as chief digital and technology officer.
  • Ministry of Justice: Civil Procedure Rule Committee John McQuater appointed as the lay and consumer advice member.
  • Home Office: Disclosure and Barring Service – Paul Whiting to replace Adele Downey as chief executive from 1 May on an interim basis.
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office – Roderick Drummond has been appointed Her Majesty’s Ambassador to the Kingdom of Bahrain.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: British Museum – Grayson Perry reappointed and Vivian Hunt, Geroge Weston and Philipp Hildebrand appointed as trustees.

House of Parliament

  • House of Commons: Northern Ireland Committee – Desmond Swayne replaced Robert Goodwill as a member.

Devolved Authorities

  • Welsh Government: Ofcom – David Jones named as the first board member for Wales. Welsh Ambulance Services NHS Trust – Martin Woodford named as chair.

Local authorities

  • By-election result 11 April: Burnley Council – Peter McCann elected for Rosehill with Burnley Wood – Liberal Democrat hold (Christine White resigned, she had been sitting as a Burnley and Padiham Independent). Merthyr Tydfil Council – Michelle Jones elected for Cyfarthfa – Independent gain from Independent (Paul Brown died). Lambeth Council – Nanda Manley-Browne elected for Thornton – Labour hold (Lib Peck, Leader of the Council, resigned). Edinburgh Council – Rob Munn elected for Leith Walk – SNP gain from Labour (Marian Donaldson resigned).

Interest groups

  • Dogs Trust – Owen Sharp to become chief executive.
  • Nacro – Campbell Robb to become chief executive in July.
  • Roald Dahl’s Marvellous Children’s Charity – Louise Griew to become chief executive.
  • Children’s Society – Mark Russell to replace Matthew Reed as chief executive in August.
  • Community Action Suffolk – Christine Abraham promoted to chief executive.
  • Working Chance – Natasha Finlayson to replace Jocelyn Hillman as chief executive in June.
  • Scottish Wildlife Trust – Jo Pike promoted to chief executive, replacing Jonny Hughes.
  • GroceryAid – Andy Ward appointed as finance director.
Author Display Name
Dods People
Image description
Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...