Latest civil service & public affairs moves — December 11

Written by Dods People on 11 December 2017 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Houses of Parliament

  • House of Lords: Lord Loomba (life peer), was non-affiliated and now sits as crossbench
  • House of Commons: Environmental Audit Committee – Colin Clark and Glyn Davies appointed as members; Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee – Jo Platt appointed as a member; Home Affairs Committee – Douglas Ross replaced Esther McVey as a member; International Trade Committee – Stephanie Peacock replaced Keith Vaz as a member; Science and Technology Committee – Carol Monaghan replaced Stephanie Peacock as a member.

Government departments

  • Department for Transport: HS2 Ltd Andrew McNaughton is to become a part-time strategic technical adviser.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Regulatory Policy Committee Anthony Browne appointed as the new chair.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport: VisitBritain ​ Judith Macgregor appointed to the board; Arts Council England – Michael Eakin, Catherine Mallyon, Andrew Miller, George Mpanga, Elisabeth Murdoch. Paul Roberts and Tessa Ross appointed as general council members and David Joseph reappointed; Sukhy Johal appointed as Midlands area chair, Kate Willard as north area chair, Roni Brown as south east area chair, and Rosemary Squire reappointed as south west area chair; UK Gambling Commission  Sarah Harrison to stand down as chief executive in February.
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Andrew Pearce has been appointed governor of Montserrat.
  • Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs: Christine Middlemiss to replace Nigel Gibbens as chief veterinary officer in March.
  • Cabinet Office: Social Mobility Commission – Alan Milburn resigned as chair of the board; Baroness Shephard, Paul Gregg and David Johnston resigned as members.

Local authorities

  • Derby City Council – Paul Robinson to stand down as chief executive in April.
  • Worcestershire County Council – Paul Robinson to become the new chief executive.
  • By-election results 7 December: North Devon Council  Caroline Leaver elected for Newport – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative; Enfield Council – Ergun Eren elected for Enfield Highway – Labour hold.

Trade associations

  • EEF, the manufacturers' organisation – Stephen Phipson replaced Terry Scuoler as chief executive on 1 December.
  • Association for Scottish Public Affairs – Callum Chomczuk named as the new chair, replacing Alastair Ross.

Interest groups

  • SafeLives – Suzanne Jacob promoted to become chief executive, replacing Diana Barran.
  • Breast Cancer Care – Steve Lucas appointed as director of fundraising and marketing.
  • Royal Blind Group – Richard Baker appointed as policy manager.


  • Edelman – Feargal Purcell becomes director of public affairs.


  • Santander UK – Stewart Todd to become head of external communications in March.
About the author

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...