Latest civil service & public affairs moves — December 17

Written by Dods People on 17 December 2018 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Government departments

  • HM Treasury: Financial Conduct Authority’s Competition Decisions Committee – Lesley Ainsworth, Simon Polito, David Thomas and Tim Tutton appointed as members; Payment Systems Regulator’s Competition Decisions Committee and Enforcement Decisions Committee – Lesley Ainsworth, Simon Polito, David Thomas and Tim Tutton appointed as members; Royal Mint – Graham Love appointed as non-executive chair.
  • Department for Work and Pensions: Industrial Injuries Advisory Council – Kim Burton, John Cherrie, Valentina Gallo, Max Henderson, Chris Stenton and Ian Lawson appointed as members.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Ofgem – John Crackett appointed as a non-executive director.
  • Home Office: Gangmasters and Labour Abuse Authority: Margaret Beels reappointed as chair and Michael Rich appointed as chief executive from January; Security Industry Authority: Ian Todd to become chief executive on 25 February.
  • Ministry of Defence: UK Hydrographic Office – Tim Lowe appointed as acting chief executive and accounting officer from the end of January.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Ofcom - Stephen Nuttall to join the Content Board.

Devolved authorities

  • Welsh Government reshuffle: Alun Davies left the government and his role as cabinet secretary for local government and public services; Huw Irranca-Davies left the government and his role as minister for children, older people and social care; Vaughan Gething remained as minister for health and social care; Ken Skates remained as minister for economy and transport; Kirsty Williams remained as minister for education; Jeremy Miles remained as counsel general and also became minister for Brexit; Eluned Morgan remained as minister for Welsh language and also became minister for international relations; Lesley Griffiths remained as minister for energy and rural affairs and also became minister for environment; Dafydd Elis-Thomas remained as deputy minister for culture, sport & tourism; Julie James became minister for housing and local government (previously Leader of the House and chief whip); Hannah Blythyn became deputy minister for housing and local government (previously minister for environment); Rebecca Evans became minister for finance and Trefnydd (previously minister for housing and regeneration); Julie Morgan became deputy minister for health and social services; Lee Waters became deputy minister for economy and transport; Jane Hutt became deputy minister and chief whip.

Local authorities

  • By-election Result 12 December: Ashfield Council – Matthew Relf elected for Sutton Junction and Harlow Wood – Ashfield Independent gain from Labour. (Steven Carroll resigned, he had been sitting as Ashfield Independent); By-election Results 13 December: Haringey Council – Seema Chandwani elected for West Green – Labour hold. (Ishmael Osamor resigned); Harlow Council – Frances Mason elected for Toddbrook – Labour hold. (Karen Clempner resigned); Middlesborough Council – Janet Thompson elected for Brambles and Thorntree – Labour hold. (Peter Purvis died); Dumfries and Galloway Council – Pauline Drysdale elected for Dee and Glenkens – Conservative hold. (Patsy Gilroy resigned).

Trade Associations

  • UK Regulators Network: Jonathan Oxley appointed as chief executive.
  • UK Finance: Paul Leonard to succeed Ian Jordan as chair of Northern Ireland committee.

Interest Group

  • The Cohesion and Integration Network: Jo Broadwood appointed as chief executive from February.
  • Mates in Mind: James Rudoni appointed as managing director.
  • Hestia: Terrie Alafat appointed as chair.
Author Display Name
Dods People
About the author

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Image description
Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...