Latest civil service & public affairs moves — February 12

Written by Dods People on 12 February 2018 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Houses of Parliament

  • House of Lords: Lord Clarke of Stone-cum-Ebony has moved from being non-affiliated to crossbench.
  • House of Commons: Welsh Affairs Committee – Thelma Walker discharged and Susan Elan Jones appointed as a member; Transport Committee – Laura Smith discharged and Grahame Morris appointed as a member; Public Accounts Committee – Andrew Jones discharged and Robert Jenrick appointed as a member; Justice Committee – Laura Pidcock discharged and Marie Rimmer appointed as a member; Home Affairs Committee – Preet Kaur Gill discharged and John Woodcock appointed as a member; Communities and Local Government Committee – Fiona Onasanya discharged Matt Western appointed as a member; High Speed Rail (West Midlands – Crewe) Bill Select Committee – James Duddridge, Sandy Martin, Sheryll Murray, Martin Whitfield and Bill Wiggin named as members.

Government departments

  • Home Office: Police Remuneration Review Body – Monojit Chatterji appointed as a member; National Crime Agency Remuneration Review Body – Monojit Chatterji appointed as a member.
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Frank Baker has been appointed Her Majesty’s ambassador to Libya in succession to Peter Millett.
  • HM Treasury: Financial Policy Committee – Donald Kohn and Martin Taylor reappointed to the committee.
  • Department for International Trade: Antony Phillipson appointed as HM trade commissioner for North America, Crispin Simon for South Asia and Richard Burn for China; UK Export Finance – Richard Simon-Lewis appointed as head of origination, client coverage, marketing and communications, Adam Harris as head of civil, infrastructure and energy and Andy Blacksell as head of underwriting policy and products.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: UK Research and Innovation – Tony Harper has been appointed as director, Faraday Battery Challenge, starting in April.
  • Department for Transport: Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency – Julie Lennard to become interim chief executive on 19 March.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Theatres Trust – Tim Eyles reappointed as chair of the board; Horniman Museum – Eve Saloman reappointed as chair of the board; Historic Royal Palaces – Jane Kennedy and David Cannadine reappointed as trustees.
  • Attorney General's Office: Treasury Counsel – Tom Little and Julian Evans have been appointed as senior Treasury counsel to the Crown and Joel Smith, Jonathan Polnay and Paul Jarvis have been appointed as junior Treasury counsel to the Crown.


  • Local Government and Social Care Ombudsman – Deep Sagar and Stephen Perkins appointed as members to the governing board Commission for Local Administration in England.

Devolved authorities

  • Scottish Government: Police Scotland – Phil Gormley resigned as chief constable.
  • National Assembly for Wales: Jack Sargeant (Labour) elected as the new AM for Alyn and Deeside.

Local authorities: by-election results 8 February

  • Eden Council – Robin Orchard elected for Hartside – Conservative hold.
  • Staffordshire Council – Bob Spencer elected for Codsall – Conservative hold.
  • South Staffordshire Council – Bob Spencer elected for Codsall South – Conservative hold.
  • East Staffordshire Council – Vicki Gould elected for Stretton – Conservative hold.
  • Brighton and Hove Council – Nancy Platts elected for East Brighton – Labour hold.
  • Weymouth and Portland Council – Katherine Garcia elected for Tophill East – Conservative gain from Independent.
  • Weymouth and Portland Council – Kerry Baker elected for Tophill West – Conservative hold.

Interest Groups

  • International Financial Reporting Standards Foundation – Lee White to become executive director in April.
  • Medaille Trust – Garry Smith appointed as chief executive.
  • Cruse Bereavement Care – Steven Wibberley appointed as chief executive.
  • Victim Support – Diana Fawcett to replaced Mark Castle as chief executive.


  • Legal & General Assurance Society Ltd – Henrietta Baldock to become non-executive chair on 6 March.
  • Network Rail – Mark Carne to stand down as chief executive.
Author Display Name
Dods People
About the author

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Image description
Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...