Latest civil service & public affairs moves — January 2

Written by Dods People on 2 January 2018 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Houses of Parliament

  • House of Lords: Baroness Sharples (Conservative, life peer) retired on 18 December; Lord Condon (Crossbench, life peer) retired on 21 December.
  • House of Commons: Joint Committee on Human Rights – Alex Burghart replaced Mark Pritchard as a member; Regulatory Reform Committee – Simon Clarke replaced Mark Menzies as a member.

Government departments

  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport: Charity Commission – Kenneth Dibble to join the board as a member in March.
  • Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy: Committee on Radioactive Waste Management – Laurence Williams stood down as chair; Medical Research Council – Fiona Watt selected as the preferred candidate to become executive chair in April.
  • Ministry of Justice: European Union Fundamental Rights Agency – Charles Banner has been appointed as the UK independent member of the management board.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Joint Nature Conservation Committee – Melanie Austen, Charles Banner and Marian Scott appointed as independent members.
  • UK National Infrastructure Commission: Andrew Adonis stood down as chair.


  • Scottish Labour Party: Lesley Laird named as interim deputy leader

Shadow Cabinet reshuffle

  • Iain Gray reappointed as shadow cabinet secretary for education, skills and science.
  • Claudia Beamish reappointed as shadow cabinet secretary for environment, climate change and land reform.
  • Jackie Baillie reappointed as shadow cabinet secretary for the economy, jobs and fair work.
  • Anas Sarwar appointed as shadow cabinet secretary for health and sport (previously spokesperson for health).
  • Rhoda Grant appointed as business manager and spokesperson for women and equality (previously spokesperson for rural economy and connectivity).
  • Claire Baker appointed as shadow cabinet secretary for culture, tourism and external affairs (previously spokesperson for justice).
  • James Kelly appointed as shadow cabinet secretary for finance and the constitution (previously parliamentary business manager; minister without portfolio).
  • Daniel Johnson appointed as shadow cabinet secretary for justice (previously shadow minister for education).
  • Colin Smyth appointed as shadow cabinet secretary for rural economy and connectivity (previously shadow minister for health; whip).
  • Monica Lennon appointed as shadow cabinet secretary for communities, social security and equalities (previously shadow minister for inequality working across health and education portfolios.).
  • Elaine Smith appointed as shadow cabinet secretary for the eradication of poverty and inequality (previously backbench).
  • Neil Findlay appointed as shadow cabinet secretary for Brexit, campaigns and party engagement (previously backbench).

Devolved Authorities

  • Scottish Parliament: Alex Rowley had the Scottish Labour whip reinstated.
  • Welsh Government: Welsh Tribunals –​ Wyn Williams appointed as the first president.
Author Display Name
Dods People
About the author

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Image description
Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...