Latest civil service & public affairs moves — June 11

Written by Dods People on 11 June 2018 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Houses of Parliament

House of Lords

  • Lord Glentoran (Conservative, hereditary peer) retired on 1 June, a by-election to replace him will take place in due course.
  • EU Committee – Lord Woolmer of Leeds discharged as a member.
  • EU Financial Affairs Sub-committee – Lord Fraser of Corriegarth and Lord Woolmer of Leeds discharged, Lord Giddens and Lord Cavendish appointed as members.
  • EU External Affairs Sub-committee – Baroness Chalker appointed as a member.
  • EU Justice Sub-committee – Lord Gold discharged, Lord Wasserman appointed as a member.
  • EU Internal Market Sub-Committee – Lord Wei discharged, Lord Robathan appointed as a member.

House of Commons

  • Environmental Audit Committee – Glyn Davies discharged, James Gray appointed as a member.
  • International Development Committee – James Duddridge discharged, Mark Menzies appointed as a member.
  • Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee – Sarah Champion discharged, Tulip Saddiq appointed as a member.
  • Women and Equalities – Tulip Siddiq and Rosie Duffield discharged, Teresa Pearce and Sarah Champion appointed as members.
  • Work and Pensions Committee – Andrew Bowie and Emma Dent Coad discharged, Rosie Duffield and Justin Tomlinson appointed as members.

Government departments

  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Historic England – Martin Daunton reappointed to the board; British Museum – Charlie Mayfield appointed as a trustee; Charity Commission – Mike Ashley reappointed as a member of the board.
  • Attorney General’s Office: Serious Fraud Office – Lisa Osofsky appointed as director, from 3 September.
  • Department for Education: Construction Industry Training Board – Kevin Mcloughlin, Robert Williams and Steve Fox appointed to the board.
  • Child Safeguarding Practice Review Panel – Sarah Elliott, Mary Gurrey, Karen Manners, Peter Sidebotham, Dale Simon and Susan Tranter to be members of the new body from 29 June.
  • Department for Work and Pensions: BPDTS Ltd – Ian Wilson appointed as a non-executive director.
  • Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government: Jeremy Pocklington to replace Helen MacNamara as director-general of housing in September.
  • Ministry of Justice: Mark Rawlinson joined as lead non-executive board member, Shirley Cooper and Nick Campsie as non-executive board members.

Non-ministerial departments

  • Office of Gas and Electricity Markets: Mary Starks appointed as executive director, consumers and markets from September.

Devolved authorities

  • Welsh Government: Heléna Herklots to replace Sarah Rochira as the older people’s commissioner for Wales; Andy Fry to replace Des Tidbury as chief fire and rescue adviser for Wales in July.
  • Scottish Government: Simon Routh-Jones appointed as chief inspector of Scottish Fire and Rescue Service.

Local authorities: by-election results

  • Mid Devon Council – Lance Kennedy elected for Cranmore – Conservative hold. (Clarissa Slade died).
  • South Oxfordshire Council – Sue Cooper elected for Benson and Crowmarsh – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative. (Richard Pullen resigned).
  • East Staffordshire Council – Gordon Marjoram elected for Crown – Conservative hold. (Stephen Smith resigned).


Trade associations

  • British Medical Association – Rob Harwood elected as chair of the BMA consultants committee.
  • Association of British Insurers – Amanda Blanc to replace Andy Briggs as chair in October.

Interest groups

  • Hub for London – Margaret Cooney appointed as chief executive.
  • General Optical Council – Adam Sampson appointed as interim chief executive and registrar.


  • Ordnance Survey – Neil Ackroyd appointed as interim chief executive, replacing Nigel Clifford.
Author Display Name
Dods People
About the author

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Image description
Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...