Latest civil service & public affairs moves — March 13

Written by Dods People on 13 March 2017 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Government departments

  • Department for Culture, Media and Sport: BBC Board – Steve Morrison appointed as member for Scotland, and Ashley Steel as member for England; National Gallery – Hannah Rothschild reappointed as a Trustee; Tate – James Timpson appointed as North West Commercial Trustee.

Non-Ministerial Departments

  • National Savings and Investments - Sharmila Nebhrajani and Christopher Fisher appointed as Non-Executive Directors.
    Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy - Alexandra Jones appointed Director of Industrial Strategy.


  • Ulster Unionist Party: Mike Nesbitt is to stand down as Leader when a replacement is elected on 8th April.
  • Scottish Liberal Democrats: Mariam Mahmood announced as Spokesperson for the Environment.
  • Welsh Green Party: Alice Hooker-Stroud stood down as Leader, and was replaced by Deputy Leader Grenville Ham.

Devolved Assemblies

  • Northern Ireland Assembly: Elections took place on 2nd March, leading to the construction of the Assembly being: 28 DUP, 27 Sinn Féin, 12 SDLP, 10 UUP, 8 Alliance, 2 Green, 1 TUV, 1 PBP, 1 Ind; the Assembly will meet for the first time on 13th March, and must appoint a First Minister, Deputy First Minister and Executive by 27th March.
  • National Assembly for Wales: Neil McEvoy has been suspended from the Plaid Cymru group, and is no longer their Spokesperson for Sport and Tourism.

Local Authorities

  • By-election Results 9th March: Broxbourne Council – Patsy Spears elected for Waltham Cross – Conservative gain from Labour; Derby Council - Steve Willoughby elected for Derwent - Conservative gain from UKIP; East Hertfordshire Council – Linda Radford elected for Hertford Castle – Conservative hold; London Borough of Harrow Council – Maxine Henson elected for Roxbourne – Labour hold; Rutland Council – June Fox elected for Exton – Conservative hold; Stratford-on-Avon Council – John Fielding elected for Red Horse - Conservative hold; West Oxfordshire Council – Kieran Mullins elected for Hailey, Minster Lovell & Leafield – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative.

Industry and Interest Groups

  • Science Council - Sandy Thomas announced as the new Chair; Laura Green, John O'Brien, Sarah O'Brien, Mark Rolfe, Paul Turner, Patrick Wolfe and Mark Woolhouse appointed as members.
  • Rav Chesed Trust – The Charity Commission appointed Adam Stephens as Interim Manager.
  • British Cycling - Julie Harrington to replace Ian Drake as Chief Executive.
  • William Hill – Philip Bowcock named as Chief Executive, he had been in the role on an interim basis.
About the author

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs

Add new comment

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...