Latest civil service & public affairs moves — November 21

Written by Dods People on 21 November 2016 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues on Dods People

Government departments

  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: David Concar has been appointed Her Majesty's Ambassador to the Federal Republic of Somalia.
  • Department for Health: NHS Digital – Andy Williams is to retire as Chief Executive on 31st March, with Rob Shaw taking the role on an interim basis.
  • Department for International Trade: Departmental Board - Simon Walker, Julie Currie, Pippa Malmgren and Noel Hawerth appointed as non-executive members.
  • UK Export Finance – Noel Hawerth to become Chair of the Board, replacing Guy Beringer from January 2017; Lawrence Weiss as a Non-Executive member.
  • Home Office: Migration Advisory Committee – Alan Manning appointed as Chair.
  • Ministry of Justice: Parole Board – John Saunders named as Vice-chair.
  • Department for Culture, Media and Sport: Ofcom Board - Nick Pollard appointed as a member.
  • Department for Education: Construction Industry Training Board – Mark Noonan appointed as Industry Relations Director, starting in January.

Political and Parliamentary Organisations

  • National Audit Office – Abdool Kara to become Executive Leader from 27th February.

House of Commons

  • Public Accounts Commission – Philip Boswell replaced Deidre Brock as a member.

Scottish Parliament

  • Public Audit and Post-legislative Scrutiny Committee – Ross Thomson replaced Alison Harris as a member.
  • Delegated Powers and Law Reform Committee – Alison Harris replaced Rachael Hamilton as a member.

Local Authorities

  • Swale Council – Abdool Kara to stand down as Chief Executive in February.

By-election Results 17th November

  • Bath & North East Somerset Council – Lizzie Gladwyn elected for Abbey – Conservative gain from Green.
  • Dumfries & Galloway Council – Douglas Fairbairn elected for Annandale North – Conservative hold.
  • Harborough Council – Jonathan Bateman elected for Misterton – Conservative hold.
  • Welwyn Hatfield Council – Nathaniel Chapman elected for Haldens – Conservative hold.

Industry & interest Groups

  • Oxfam – Caroline Thomson appointed as Chair.
  • Manor Building Preservation Trust - Jonathan Brinsden appointed by the Charity Commission as Interim Manager.
  • Pure Fundraising – Helen Mackenzie appointed as Chief Executive.
  • Acevo – Vicky Browning named as Chief Executive, starting in January.
Author Display Name
Dods People
About the author

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...