Latest civil service & public affairs moves — October 23

Written by Dods People on 23 October 2017 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Government departments

  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Horserace Betting Levy Board – Paul Lee reappointed as chair.
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Tom Dodd has been appointed Her Majesty’s ambassador to the Republic of Finland in succession to Sarah Price.
  • Ministry of Justice: Independent Monitoring Boards of Prisons and Immigration Removal Centres – Dame Anne Owers appointed as national chair from 1st November; Judicial commissioners – Sir Nicholas Blake, Lord Bonomy, Lord Bracadale, Dame Linda Dobbs, Lord Gill, Lord Justice Gillen, Sir Henry Globe, Sir John Goldring, Sir John Griffith-Williams, Sir Kenneth Parker, Sir John Saunders, Sir Stephen Silber and Sir Alan Wilkie were appointed judicial commissioners under the Investigatory Powers Act 2016.

Houses of Parliament

  • House of Lords: Lord Lloyd-Webber (Conservative, life peer) retired from the House; Sir Theodore Agnew has been raised to the peerage as Lord Agnew of Oulton, of Oulton in the County of Norfolk, and will be introduced to the House of Lords on 23 October; Rona Fairhead has been raised to the peerage as Baroness Fairhead, of Yarm in the County of North Yorkshire, and will be introduced to the House of Lords on 24 October; Communications Committee – Lord Gordon of Strathblane appointed as a member; Natural Environment and Rural Communities Act 2006 Committee – Viscount Chandos replaced Lord Harrison as a member.
  • House of Commons: Backbench Business Committee – Robert Courts appointed as a member; Home Affairs Committee – Rehman Chishti appointed as a member; Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee ​– Vernon Coaker appointed as a member; Northern Ireland Committee – Bob Stewart appointed as a member; Work and Pensions Committee – Andrew Bowie, Jack Brereton and Chris Green appointed as members; Women and Equalities Committee – Eddie Hughes appointed as a member; Welsh Affairs Committee – Tonia Antoniazzi, Simon Hoare and Anna McMorrin appointed as members; Science and Technology Committee – Vicky Ford, Adam Holloway and Stephanie Peacock appointed as members; Petitions Committee – Damien Moore appointed as a member.


  • Plaid Cymru shadow cabinet portfoliosLeader – Leanne Wood; Shadow cabinet secretary for health, wellbeing and sport – Rhun ap Iorwerth; Shadow cabinet secretary for education and lifelong learning – Llyr Gruffudd; Shadow cabinet secretary for the Welsh language, local government and equality – Siân Gwenllian; Shadow cabinet secretary for communities and children and steel spokesperson – Bethan Jenkins; Shadow cabinet secretary for finance and external affairs – Steffan Lewis; Shadow cabinet secretary for social services and public health – Dai Lloyd; Shadow cabinet secretary for economy and infrastructure – Adam Price; Shadow cabinet secretary for energy, climate change and rural affairs – Simon Thomas.
  • UK Independence Party cabinet portfolios:​ Leader and defenceHenry Bolton; Deputy leader, and aid and international development – Margot Parker; Assistant deputy leader – Jim Carver; Assistant deputy leader, and fisheries, and veterans – Mike Hookem; Interim chair – Paul Oakden; Political adviser, and Treasury – Jonathan Arnott; Leader of UKIP in Wales – Neil Hamilton; Leader of UKIP in Scotland – David Coburn; Spokesperson for UKIP in London ​– Peter Whittle; MEP delegation leader, and foreign & commonwealth affairs ​– Ray Finch; Home affairs/police & fire – Jane Collins; Justice – Peter Jewell; Immigration & integration – John Bickley; Cyber & terrorism – Richard Bingley; Business – Christopher Mills; Small business – Ernie Warrender; Trade & industry – William Dartmouth; Employment – Andrew Charalambous; Transport & infrastructure – Jill Seymour; Energy – Jonathan Bullock; Agriculture – Stuart Agnew; Environment, and health – Julia Reid; Culture & arts – David Meacock; Communities & local government – Tim Aker; Equalities & disabilities – Star Anderton; Exiting the European Union – Gerard Batten; Electoral reform – David Allen; Sport – Bill Etheridge.

Devolved Authorities

  • National Assembly for Wales: Petitions Committee – Neil McEvoy and Rhun ap Iorwerth appointed as members; Public Accounts Committee – Adam Price appointed as a member; Climate Change, Environment and Rural Affairs Committee – Dai Lloyd replaced Sian Gwenllian as member; Culture, Welsh Language and Communications Committee – Sian Gwenllian replaced Dai Lloyd as a member.

Local Authorities: by-election results

  • Epping Forest District Council – Paul Stalker elected for Lower Sheering – Conservative hold.
  • City of Lincoln Council – Lucinda Preston elected for Carholme – Labour hold.
  • Gravesham Borough Council – Gary Harding elected for Meopham North – Conservative hold.
  • Hartlepool Council – Leisa Claire Smith elected for Seaton – Putting Hartlepool First gain from Independent.
  • Nottingham City Council – Nick Raine elected for Basford – Labour hold.
  • Nottingham City Council – Georgia Power elected for Bestwood – Labour hold.
  • Nottingham City Council – Cheryl Barnard elected for Bulwell Forest – Labour hold.
  • Wigan Council – Paula Wakefield elected for Astley Mosley Common – Labour hold.

Interest Groups

  • Taylor Bennett Foundation – Sarah Pinch appointed as chair, John Lehal appointed vice chair.
  • Seafarers UK – Mairead Ni Cheoinin appointed as corporate fundraising manager.
  • Raft – Dr Elena Garcia appointed as the new director of research.
  • Turn2Us – Sally O’Sullivan appointed as chair of the board of trustees.
  • National Council for Voluntary Organisations ​– Baroness Pitkeathley of Caversham OBE nominated as next president.

Trade Associations

  • Chartered Insurance Institute – Melissa Collett appointed as the new professional standards director.
  • National Air Traffic Services – Paul Munday appointed as new chief information officer.
About the author

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs

Add new comment

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...