Latest civil service & public affairs moves — September 9

Written by Dods People on 9 September 2019 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Sign up here to recieve Dods People Moves briefing in your email inbox every week

Government departments

  • Jo Johnson MP resigned as Minister of State for Universities, Science, Research and Innovation.
  • Michelle Donelan was appointed as an unpaid Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for Education as maternity cover for Kemi Badenoch MP.
  • Cabinet Office: Civil Service Pension Board - Margaret Edwards has been re-appointed as the non-executive Chair.
  • Department for Culture, Media and Sport: Susannah Storey took up her role as director general, digital and media.
  • Department for Exiting the European Union: Susannah Storey left her role as director general.
  • Department for Work and Pensions: The Pensions Ombudsman - Caroline Rookes appointed as chair on an interim basis.

Devolved Authorities


  • Scottish Parliament: Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body - Jackson Carlaw resigned as a member; Scottish Parliamentary Bureau – Elaine Smith replaced Rhoda Grant as the representative for Scottish Labour; Economy, Energy and Fair Work Committee - Willie Coffey replaced Angela Constance and Richard Lyle replaced John Mason as a member; Education and Skills Committee - Gail Ross replaced Gordon MacDonald as a member; Equalities and Human Rights Committee - Angela Constance replaced Gail Ross as a member; Finance and Constitution Committee - Gordon MacDonald replaced Willie Coffey and John Mason replaced Emma Harper as a member; Public Petitions Committee - Gail Ross replaced Angus MacDonald as a member; Rural Economy and Connectivity Committee - Emma Harper replaced Gail Ross and Angus MacDonald replaced John Mason as a member.


Local Authorities

  • Kent County Council: Paul Carter to stand down as leader on 17 October
  • By-election Results 5September: Coventry Council – Mattie Heaven elected for Wainbody – Conservative hold (caused by the death of Conservative councillor Gary Crookes); Eden Council – Helen Fearon elected for Penrith South – Conservative gain (caused by the death of Independent councillor Paul Connor); Kingston upon Hull Council – Leanne Fudge elected for St Andrew’s and Docklands – Labour hold (caused by the death of Labour councillor Nadine Fudge).


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

  • James’ Place: Ellen O’Donoghue appointed as executive director.
  • ACT for Cancer: Sue O’Lone appointed as director of fundraising.
  • Sense: Lord Levy to become the first president.
Author Display Name
Dods People
Image description
Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

The Civil Service World Podcast: Can you reform the civil service?

21 November 2019

On this week's episode of The Civil Service World Podcast, Jess and Suzannah speak to Francis...

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...