Civil Service Awards 2020: see the full shortlist

After a year in which public servants’ resilience and ingenuity has been truly tested, the nominations for the Civil Service Awards recognise the unparalleled efforts that have gone into the pandemic response
Winners of 2019's Civil Service Awards

By Civil Service World

14 Jan 2021

The full shortlist for the upcoming Civil Service Awards, supported by EY, has been announced and the extraordinary commitment and creativity of civil servants’ response to the coronavirus pandemic is significantly reflected in the 50-plus finalists.

Now in its 15th year,  the awards ceremony will take place as a virtual event for the first time next month because of the strictures of Covid-19. But it will also feature the largest selection of categories in its history, with new separate awards for innovation and science.

Despite the unique challenges of the past year, the awards also recognise the incredibly important work that has been done to ensure business-as-usual for key public services.

The shortlist includes the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs’ Non-Shielded Vulnerable People Project; the Department of Health and Social Care’s PPE Portal Team; and the Cabinet Office for its National Resilience Hub, Covid-19 Communications Response.

Vying for the Inspirational Leadership Award are Chris Atkinson of the Northern Ireland Office, Chris Rampling of the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office, and Kelsey Williams of the Department for Education.

Meanwhile, the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government’s Abigail Agyei, HM Courts & Tribunals Service’s Leanna Conradson, and the Department for Work and Pensions’ Sidonie Edey are all in the running for the Rising Star Award. The category recognises those who have made a significant impact in the first eight years of their civil service career.

This year’s awards champions include cabinet secretary Simon Case, civil service COO and Cabinet Office perm sec Alex Chisholm, government chief scientific adviser Sir Patrick Vallance, Defra perm sec Tamara Finkelstein, and Department for International Trade perm sec Antonia Romeo – who is soon to become Ministry of Justice perm sec.

Winners will be announced at this year's ceremony – run by CSW's parent company Dods – which takes place on February 25.

The full shortlist can be found below – and there's much more detail on the dedicated Civil Service Awards site.

The Citizenship Award

Diane Law-Crookes: Ministry of Defence

Lisa Hodge: Ministry of Defence

Sarah Morton: Department for Work and Pensions          

The Collaboration Award

National Volunteer Prescription Delivery Scheme (Wales): Welsh Government

PPE Portal Team: Department of Health and Social Care

Shielding: Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

The Commercial Award – supported by Proxima

Complex Transactions Team - Covid-19 Response: Cabinet Office

Covid-19 Emergency Measures in Rail Franchising Contracts: Department for Transport

Energy Efficient Scotland National Delivery Scheme: Scottish Government

The Communication Award

DHSC Communications and Marketing Team - 'Our NHS' Allied Health Professions and Nursing Recruitment Campaign: Department of Health and Social Care

DVLA Vehicle Tax Evasion Campaign 2020: Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency

National Resilience Hub, Covid-19 Communications Response: Cabinet Office

The Developing People Award

Civil Service Dyslexia and Dyspraxia Network: HM Revenue & Customs

Inclusion Apprenticeship Programme: Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

DfT Commercial Development Programme: Department for Transport

The Digital, Data & Technology Award – supported by SSCL

Digital Learning Division - Hwb EdTech Programme: Welsh Government

Get Your State Pension: Department for Work and Pensions

Scottish Government Design System: Scottish Government

The Diversity & Inclusion Award – supported by EY

BAME Male Working Group and Race Network Co-Chairs: Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

Campaigns & Projects Leeds D&I Group: HM Revenue & Customs

Civil Service Carers Network: Cross-government

Civil Service Fast Stream and Early Talent: Cross-government

Civil Service LGBT+ Network: Ministry of Defence

Civil Service Working Through Cancer Network: Cross-government 

Food Vulnerabilities Directorate: Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Heather Wilson: Scottish Government

Home Office Gender Equality Network (GEN): Home Office

LGBTI Chile D&I Team: Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

ONS Faith and Belief Network: Office for National Statistics

Preeta Ramachandran, Mark Thompson and Aspire Participants: Department for Work and Pensions

The Health & Wellbeing Award – supported by The Charity for Civil Servants

Gillian Whitworth: Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

Home Talk: Home Office

Julie Slater: Defence, Science and Technology Laboratory

The Innovation Award – supported by Oliver Wyman

Accelerated Capability Environment (ACE): Home Office

Say My Name: Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

The Analytics Academy - A coding course for everyone at DfE (Jack Tattersall, James Lowe and Peter Fitzsimons): Department for Education

The Inspirational Leadership Award

Chris Atkinson: Northern Ireland Office

Chris Rampling: Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

Kelsey Williams: Department for Education         

The Policy & Use of Evidence Award – supported by EY

Behaviour, Insight and Research Team C19 Response: HM Revenue & Customs

Childcare Team: Welsh Government

GO-Science COVID SAGE Secretariat: Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

The Project Delivery Excellence Award

Course Design Team - Foundation Medic Course: Ministry of Defence

Nabeeha Ahmed: Ministry of Justice

Virtual Machine Environment Replacement (Jobseekers Allowance): Department for Work and Pensions

The Public Service Award

Extended HMRC/HMT, CJRS, SEISS and EOHO teams: Cross-government

Non-Shielded Vulnerable People Project: Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

The UK-Japan Trade Agreement Negotiations Team: Department for International Trade

The Resilience & Rapid Response Award

MHCLG Rough Sleeping Covid-19 Taskforce: Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

The China Network: Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

The Isolation Note, DHSC (Alexander Peck), DWP (Ailsa McGinty, David Long), NHSX (Diane Baynham), NHSD (James Higgott): Cross-government

The Rising Star Award

Abigail Agyei: Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

Leanna Conradson: HM Courts & Tribunals Service

Sidonie Edey: Department for Work and Pensions            

The Science Award

Climate Change - Rapid Attribution Studies: Met Office

International Travel Risk Assessment Team: Animal and Plant Health Agency

Synthetic Data to Support MedTech Innovation: Department of Health and Social Care


Share this page