Government drawing up emergency sanctions laws for after Brexit

Ministers are drafting new laws so the Government can continue imposing sanctions on foreign countries after Brexit, it has been reported.

By Kevin Schofield

28 Apr 2017

According to the BBC, officials recently discovered that most of the UK's powers to impose sanctions on other nations will disappear after it quits the EU.

They include the ability to impose trade embargoes, asset freezes or travel bans.

Oliver Letwin sets out to find ‘early wins’ for post-Brexit regulators
Departments urged to keep focus on new EU legislation
Whitehall must assess impact of Brexit without a trade deal, say MPs

A hastily-drawn up consultation document on the plans began last Friday, and the Government hopes to have the new laws in place as soon as possible after the general election.

The EU currently imposes 30 sanction regimes on countries including Russia, North Korea, Syria and Iraq.

Under the new laws, which are expected to be passed without any substantial delays, Britain will be able to impose sanctions itself for the first time.


Share this page