Latest civil service & public affairs moves — December 14

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Government departments

  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office: Paul Brummell has been appointed Her Majesty’s Ambassador to the Republic of Latvia in succession to Keith Shannon; Matthew Lodge has been appointed Her Majesty’s Ambassador to the Hellenic Republic in succession to Kate Smith; Kirsty Hayes has been appointed Her Majesty’s Ambassador to the Argentine Republic in succession to Mark Kent.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Office for Environmental Protection – Glenys Stacey named as the preferred candidate to become chair.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport:: Treasure Valuation Committee – Lucina Orr appointed as a member; Imperial War Museum – Tim Marlow has been reappointed as a trustee; Wallace Collection – Marilyn Berk and Eric Ellul reappointed as trustees.
  • Department for Education: Susan Acland-Hood appointed as permanent secretary, having been in the role on an interim basis; Rachel de Souza named as preferred candidate to be Children's Commissioner for Englandl Child Safeguarding Practice Review Panel – Annie Hudson to become Chair, replacing Karen Manners who had been in the role on an interim basis.
  • Office of the Advocate General for Scotland: Lord Stewart of Dirleton sworn in as Advocate General for Scotland.
  • Ministry of Justice: Independent Monitoring Authority for the Citizens’ Rights Agreements – Ashley Fox to be the first chair; Punam Birly, Marcus Killick and Leo O’Reilly appointed as non-executive members.
  • Department of Health and Social Care: Deborah Sturdy has been appointed as chief nurse for adult social care in England for an interim period of up to six months.

Devolved authorities

  • Northern Ireland Government: Northern Ireland Blood Transfusion Service - Philip Cathcart’s appointment as a mon-executive member has been extended; Education Authority – Marry Mulholland to become Chair on 1st January.
  • Welsh GovernmentRegulatory Board for Wales – Deep Sagar named as the new chair from 1st January.

Local authorities

  • Liverpool City Council: Joe Anderson stood down as elected Mayor; councillor and Deputy Mayor Wendy Simon is to take on the role on an interim basis.
  • East Ayrshire Council: Eddie Fraser to replace Fiona Lees as chief executive.
  • Sheffield Council: Bob Johnson elected as leader of the council, replacing Julie Dore in January.
  • Cheltenham Borough Council: Rowena Hay to become leader of the council, replacing Steve Jordan.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – April 15


HR Leadership
Share this page
Read next