Latest civil service & public affairs moves — July 12

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Government departments

  • Home Office – James Brokenshire resigned as minister of state for security.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Centre for Data Ethis and Innovation – Felicity Burch to become executive director in August.
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office – Bill Murray has been appointed Her Majesty’s ambassador to the Sultanate of Oman in succession to Hamish Cowell from September. Colin James Crooks has been appointed Her Majesty’s ambassador to the Republic of Korea in succession to Simon Smith.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Sea Fish Industry Authority  Nathan de Rozarieux and Michael Mitchell reappointed as non-executive members.
  • Cabinet Office – Julian Braithwaite appointed as director general for the EU.
  • Ministry of Justice – Linda Dobbs has been reappointed as independent assessor for miscarriages of justice.
  • Houses of Parliament

House of Lords

  • Bishop of Salisbury (Non-affiliated) retired from the House of Lords on 3rd July.

Political parties

Green Party

  • Jonathan Bartley to stand down as co-leader.

Devolved authorities

Northern Ireland Government

  • Gordon Lyons replaced Paul Frew as minister for the economy.

Northern Ireland Assembly

  • Áine Murphy co-opted as a Sinn Féin member for Fermanagh and South Tyrone, replacing Seán Lynch.
  • Assembly and Executive Review Committee – Gordon Lyons replaced Jonathan Buckley as member.
  • Economy Committee – Stephen Dunne replaced Gary Middleton as a member.

Local authorities

  • Merton Council – Hannah Doody confirmed as chief executive, replacing Ged Curran.
  • Hackney Council – Mark Carroll appointed as chief executive, starting later in the year.
  • Hampshire County Council – Carolyn Williamson to become chief executive on 19th July.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest groups

  • Royal College of Physicians  Ramesh Arasaradnam elected as Academic Vice President, starting on 1st August.

Trade associations

  • Food and Drink Federation – Karen Betts to replace Ian Wright as chief executive at the end of 2021.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – April 15


Share this page
Read next