Latest civil service & public affairs moves – April 22

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via Dods People

UK Government

  • Department for Culture, Media and Sport: DCMS Board – Claudia Arney re-appointed as lead non-executive board member for three years from 15 April. National Memorial Heritage Fund and National Lottery Heritage Fund – Anna Eavis and Roisha Hughes appointed as trustees for three years.
  • Ministry of Defence: Single Source Regulations Office – Peter Freeman’s term as non-executive board member extended from 6 September until 5 September 2025. UK Hydrographic Office – Vanessa Blake appointed as interim chief executive and accounting officer from May.
  • Department for Education: Construction Industry Training Board – Rachael Cunningham, Nikki Davis, Stephen Gray, Julia Heap and Herman Kok appointed as board members for four years. LocatED – Phil Ellis and Julian Rudd-Jones’ terms as board members extended for two months; Caroline Tolhurst re-appointed as board member for three years. School Teachers’ Review Body – Lauren Costello appointed as board member for three years.
  • Department for Energy Security and Net Zero – Graham Stuart resigned as minister of state for energy security and net zero; Justin Tomlinson appointed as minister of state for energy security and net zero. Nuclear Decommissioning Authority – Peter Hill appointed as chair from 1 June. Sellafield Ltd – Lawrie Haynes appointed as interim chair from 1 May.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Environment Agency Board – Brittany Harris and Maya Leibman appointed as non-executive directors for three years until 31 March 2027.
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office – Andrew Mitchell given the honorific title of deputy foreign secretary. FCDP Board – Beverley Tew appointed as lead non-executive director for three years from 15 April; James Bilefield appointed as non-executive director for three years from 15 April. Diplomatic Service – Victoria Harrison appointed as His Majesty’s ambassador to the Republic of Slovenia from August, succeeding Tiffany Sadler who will be transferring to another Diplomatic Service appointment. Roderick Drummond appointed as His Majesty’s ambassador to the Republic of Tunisia from September, succeeding Helen Winterton who will be transferring to another Diplomatic Service appointment.
  • Department of Health and Social Care: NHS Resolution – Lesley Regan re-appointed as non-executive director for three years from 6 December 2024 until 5 December 2027; Charlotte Moar’s terms as non-executive director and Audit and Risk Committee chair extended until 30 September.
  • Home Office: Migration Advisory Committee – Dina Kiwan, Sergi Pardos-Prado and Jo Swaffield re-appointed as members for three years.
  • Northern Ireland Office: Equality Commission for Northern Ireland – Jim McCooe appointed as member for three years from 1 May.
  • HM Treasury: UK Debt Management Office – Jessica Pulay appointed as chief executive, succeeding Sir Robert Stheeman in late June.
  • Department for Work and Pensions – Mims Davies promoted from parliamentary under-secretary of state for disabled people, health and work to minister of state for disabled people, health and work.

Houses of Parliament

House of Commons

  • Bambos Charalambous, MP for Enfield Southgate, has had the Labour whip restored.
  • Mark Menzies, MP for Fylde, had the Conservative whip suspended on 18 April.
  • Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee – William Wragg resigned as chair on 15 April. Nominations for the new chair will close at 12pm on 7 May. If there is more than one candidate, the ballot will take place on 8 May.
  • Liaison Committee – William Wragg discharged.

House of Lords

  • Windsor Framework Sub-Committee – Lord Godson discharged.


Ulster Unionist Party

  • Robbie Butler replaced John Stewart appointed as chief whip in the Assembly.

Devolved Administrations

Scottish Government

  • Chief Nursing Officer – Professor Alex McMahon to retire at the end of April; Anne Armstrong appointed as interim chief nursing officer from 26 April.

Welsh Parliament

  • Senedd Commission – Hefin David added.
  • Business Committee – Jane Hutt added; Lesley Griffiths discharged.
  • Children, Young People and Education Committee – Buffy Williams appointed as chair; Jayne Bryant discharged.
  • Legislation, Justice and Constitution Committee – Sarah Murphy appointed as chair; Huw Irranca-Davies discharged.

Welsh Government

  • Mick Antoniw confirmed as counsel general on 16 April.
  • Bovine TB Technical Advisory Group – Professor Glyn Hewinson appointed as chair; Keith Cutler, Gareth Edwards, Gareth Enticott, David Grove-White, Ifan Lloyd, Gwenllian Rees, Robert Smith, Sarah Tomlinson and Sarah Woollatt appointed as members.

Northern Ireland Assembly

  • Business Committee – Robbie Butler added; John Stewart discharged.

Northern Ireland Executive

  • Middletown Centre for Autism – Sheila Darling appointed as chair; Dorothy Angus and Irene Murphy’s terms as directors extended until 30 June.
  • Northern Ireland Fire & Rescue Service – Bonnie Anley, Hilary Singleton and Lindsey Smith re-appointed as non-executive (lay) members until 31 March 2028; Jonathan Craig and Thomas O’Hanlon re-appointed as non-executive (district councillor) members until 31 March 2028; Jim Quinn re-appointed as non-executive (trade union) member until 31 March 2028.

Local Authorities

  • Forest of Dean Council – Mark Topping to step down as council leader on 18 April.
  • Wakefield Council – Tony Reeves appointed as chief executive.


Interest Groups

  • St Martin-in-the-Fields Charity – Duncan Shrubsole appointed as chief executive.
  • Safe Passage International – Wanda Wyporska appointed as permanent chief executive, she was previously appointed interim chief executive.
  • Society for the Protection of Animals Abroad (SPANA) – Marianne Davies appointed as interim chair.
  • TIC+ (formerly Teens in Crisis) – Claire Power-Browne appointed as chief executive.

Discover Dods People: Your ultimate stakeholder management solution. Dods People is a comprehensive online service that provides unparalleled access to political representatives and public affairs professionals across the UK and EU. Book your demo now to explore the power of Dods People

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 28


Share this page