Latest civil service & public affairs moves – June 20

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

UK government

  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Competition and Markets Authority – Sarah Cardell appointed as interim chief executive and will take over from current chief executive Andrea Coscelli when he leaves at the end of his term in office in July.
  • Cabinet Office  David Buttress appointed as the government's cost of living business tsar. Lord Geidt resigned as the independent adviser on miinisters’ interests on 15 June. Civil Service Commission – Joanna Abeyie and Lea Paterson appointed as commissioners for five years from 13 June.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Arts Council England – YolanDa Brown, Jamie Njoku-Goodwin and Abigail Pogson appointed as national council members for four years until 14 May 2026; William Bush, Deborah Shaw and Baroness Fleet appointed as national council members for three years until 14 May 2025. Historic England – Nairita Chakraborty, Lady Jane Gibson, David Laing, Sir Jonathan Marsden and Robert Sackville-West appointed as commissioners for four years from 1 July until 30 June 2026. Science Museum Group – Professor Stephen Belcher appointed as a sustainability and climate science trustee for four years until 31 May 2026; James Bilefield appointed as a senior level leadership trustee for four years until 31 May 2026; Tim Dugher and Professor Washington Ochieng appointed as engineering and technology trustees for four years until 31 May 2026.
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office – Matt Field appointed Her Majesty's ambassador to the Czech Republic from January 2023, succeeding Nick Archer MVO.
  • Department of Health and Social Care – Dame Lesley Regan appointed as women's health ambassador for England.
  • Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities – Imam Qari Asim’s role as an independent adviser and deputy chair of the government’s Anti-Muslim Hatred Working Group has been ended with immediate effect. Homes England – Kirsty Shaw appointed as the first chief operating officer from September. Shaw is currently Chief Operating Officer of the Care Quality Commission.
  • HM Treasury – Professor Zoubin Ghahramani appointed to lead the future of compute review.

Houses of Parliament

House of Commons

  • Committee of Privileges – Harriet Harman added; Chris Bryant discharged.

House of Lords

  • Bishop of Southwell and Nottingham (non-affiliated) was introduced to the Lords on 13 June.
  • Lord Bellamy (Conservative, life peer) was introduced to the Lords on 14 June.
  • Lord Hanningfield (non-affiliated, life peer) and Lord Plant of Highfield (Labour, life peer) were granted a leave of absence on 14 June.
  • Procedure and Privileges Select Committee – Baroness Taylor of Bolton added.
  • Public Services Select Committee – Baroness Morris of Yardley added; Lord Hunt of Kings Heath discharged.

All-Party Groups added to 15 June Register:

  • Better Roads
  • Get Refusal
  • Lead Ammunition
  • Levelling up Birmingham
  • Metaverse and Web 3.0
  • Northern Ireland Economy
  • Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
  • Safe Standing
  • Shellfish Aquaculture

Devolved administrations

Scottish Government

  • Lee Craigie appointed as ambassador for active travel.

Northern Ireland Executive

  • Stranmillis University College – Claire Moore’s term on the governing body extended from 31 July until 30 June 2023.

Local authorities

Interested in an updated contact list of local government leaders? Get in contact with your Dods account manager or customer services for more details.

  • Mid and East Antrim Borough Council – Valerie Watts appointed as Interim Chief Executive.
  • Thanet District Council – Madeline Homer has resigned as Chief Executive. An Interim Chief Executive will be appointed next month. Chris Blundell appointed as Acting Deputy Chief Executive, also covering the duties of the Head of Paid Service, as a short-term arrangement.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest groups

  • Age UK – Paul Farmer CBE appointed as chief executive; he is currently chief executive of Mind and will leave in October after 16 years in the role.
  • British Heart Foundation – Wendy Becker appointed as chair.
  • Diabetes UK – James Beeby appointed as director of engagement and fundraising.
  • Drinkaware – Karen Tyrell appointed as chief executive from early October, replacing Shan Nicholas.
  • Seafarers' Charity – Deborah Layde appointed as chief executive from early July; she is currently director of impact.

Check out a selection of upcoming courses from our colleagues at Dods Training:

  • How Parliament Works – 23 June 2022 (Online)
  • Understanding the NHS – 5 July 2022 (London – Morning Session)
  • Strategic Thinking for the Public Sector – 7 July 2022 (online)

For the full list and to book your place click here.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – April 15


Share this page