Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 23

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

UK government

  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Committee on Fuel Poverty – Gordon McGregor appointed as member for three years from 17 May.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: National Heritage Memorial Fund and National Lottery Heritage Fund – Carol Pyrah appointed as trustee for three years until 8 May 2025.
  • Department for Education: Engineering Construction Industry Training Board – Simon Hicks, Hilary Hill, Joe Howe and David Vineall re-appointed as board members for four years from 1 June.
  • Department of Health and Social Care: Health Research Authority – Professor Sir Terence Stephenson appointed as chair for 3 years from 1 September. Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency – Stephen Lightfoot re-appointed as chair from 1 September to 31 March 2024.
  • Department for Transport: Transport Focus – Nigel Stevens appointed as chair.

Houses of Parliament

House of Commons

  • By-elections will take place in Tiverton and Honiton and in Wakefield on 23 June.
  • Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee – the current nominees for chair are: Neil Hudson, Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown, Derek Thomas, Sir Robert Goodwill
  • Environmental Audit Committee – Anna McMorrin added; Valerie Vaz discharged.
  • Justice Committee – Karl Turner added; Andy Slaughter discharged.
  • Joint Committee on National Security Strategy – Stephen McPartland added; Sir Edward Leigh discharged.
  • Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee – Beth Winter added; Rachel Hopkins discharged.
  • Science and Technology Committee – Tracey Crouch added; Mark Logan discharged.
  • Transport Committee – Christian Wakeford added; Navendu Mishra discharged.

House of Lords

  • Shaista Gohir and Professor Katherine Willis to be appointed as crossbench peers.
  • Baroness Afshar (crossbench, life peer) died on 12 May.
  • Baroness Howarth of Breckland (crossbench), Lord Oakeshott of Seagrove Bay (non-affiliated), Baroness Quin (Labour), Baroness Shields (Conservative) and Baroness Vadera (non-affiliated) granted a leave of absence from 16 May.
  • Lord Beith, Baroness Bull, Baroness Kennedy of Cradley and Lord Young of Cookham appointed to the panel of members to act as deputy chairmen of committees.
  • Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST) Board – Baroness Brown of Cambridge and Lord Ravensdale added; Lord Patel discharged.

Political parties


  • Simon Lightwood selected as candidate for the Wakefield by-election.

Liberal Democrats

  • Richard Foord selected as candidate for the Tiverton and Honiton by-election.

Devolved administrations

Welsh Government

  • Industry Wales – Professor Keith Ridgway CBE appointed as chair from 2 June, having acted as interim chair since September 2020.

Northern Ireland Executive

  • John O’Dowd appointed as minister for infrastructure.

Local authorities

  • Harrow Council – Patrick (Pat) Flaherty appointed as chief executive; Paul Hewitt will serve as interim chief executive until Pat Flaherty takes up his post in the autumn.
  • Mansfield Council – Adam Hill appointed as chief executive from August.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at


  • Crown Estate – Clare Harrison appointed as development director.

Interest Groups

  • Andrew Lloyd Webber Foundation – Dr Simon Thurley CBE appointed as chair of trustees.
  • Lymphoma Action – Mark Harrison appointed as chair.
  • Parkinson’s UK – Juliet Tizzard appointed as director of external affairs and communications.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – April 15


Share this page