Analysis & Opinion

More Analysis & Opinion

4 February 2020

The PM’s top adviser says making government work better looks messy. But others will wonder if conflicting messages betray a power struggle

31 January 2020

In our January issue, CSW asks experts to give their thoughts on the new government’s policy priorities. In this final entry, former HM chief inspector of prisons and Parole Board chair Nick Hardwick considers what the 2020 holds for the criminal justice system

30 January 2020

In our January issue, CSW asks experts to give their thoughts on the new government’s policy priorities. In this entry, Camille Oung of the Nuffield Trust considers whether the government’s majority will lead to action on social care

29 January 2020

In our January issue, CSW asks experts to give their thoughts on the new government’s policy priorities. In this entry, Committee on Climate Change chief executive Chris Stark sets out what the government needs to do to in 2020 to reduce the risks of climate impacts

28 January 2020

In our January issue, CSW asks experts to give their thoughts on the new government’s policy priorities. In this entry, Richard Harries considers if the government’s reforms will overcome the barriers to change in Whitehall

27 January 2020

In our January issue, CSW asks experts to give their thoughts on the new government’s policy priorities. In this entry, Dr Joe Devanny sets out the context of the forthcoming defence review

27 January 2020

Dominic Cummings view of the civil service seems Frozen in time. Ministers and advisers need to realise its strengths in any reforms to avoid alienating a talented workforce

23 January 2020

In our January issue, CSW asks experts to give their thoughts on the new government’s policy priorities. In this entry, RSA chief executive, and interim director of labour market enforcement at BEIS, Matthew Taylor looks at the government’s work on work

23 January 2020

In our January issue, CSW asks experts to give their thoughts on the new government’s policy priorities. In this entry, Education Policy Institute executive director (and former civil servant) Natalie Perera considers what’s in line for schools