Latest civil service & public affairs moves — February 11

Written by Dods People on 11 February 2019 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People


Government departments

  • Home Office: Carol Black named as independent reviewer of drugs.
  • Department of Health and Social Care: Sally Davies to stand down as chief medical officer at the end of September.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Lord Henley named as ministerial champion for Salisbury.
  • Cabinet Office: Paula Vennells, Karen Blackett and Anand Aithal appointed as the non-executive board members.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Natural England – Tony Juniper announced as the preferred candidate for Chair.
  • Ministry of Justice: HM Prison and Probation Service - Jo Farrar appointed as chief executive from 1 April, replacing Michael Spurr; Office of the Public Guardian – Alan Eccles to retire as Chief Executive and Public Guardian for England and Wales in June.

Non-Ministerial Departments

  • Food Standards Agency: Heather Hancock reappointed as chair.
  • Competition and Markets Authority: Cynthia Dubin appointed as a non-executive director and Robin Foster, Colleen Keck, Karthik Subramanya, Shrinivas Honap and Maria da Cunha as panel members.
  • National Savings and Investments: Jill Lucas appointed as a non-executive director.

Devolved Authorities

  • Scottish Parliament: Committee on the Scottish Government Handling of Harassment Complaints – Alasdair Allan, Jackie Baillie, Donald Cameron, Alex Cole-Hamilton, Angela Constance, Linda Fabiani, Alison Johnstone, Margaret Mitchell and Maureen Watt appointed as members of the new committee.

Local Authorities

  • Lancaster City Council: Kieran Keane to become interim chief executive on 25 March
  • By-election Results 7 February: Tower Hamlets Council – Rajib Ahmed elected for Lansbury – Labour hold. (Muhammad Harun resigned); Tower Hamlets Council – Harun Miah elected for Shadwell – Labour hold. (Rhul Amin resigned); Lambeth Council – Stephen Donnelly elected for Thornton – Labour hold. (Jane Edbrooke resigned); Wokingham Council – Sarah Kerr elected for Evendons – Liberal Democrat hold. (Helen Power resigned); Buckinghamshire Council – Israr Rashid elected for Totteridge and Bowerdean – Labour gain from East Wycombe Independents. (Chaudhary Ditta died); Bradford Council – Rachel Sunderland elected for Bolton and Undercliffe – Liberal Democrat gain from Labour. (Ian Greenwood died).

Interest Groups

If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

  • Church Mission Society – Alastair Bateman appointed as chief executive.
  • National Council for Voluntary Organisations – Stuart Etherington to step down as chief executive later this year.


  • Hill+Knowlton Strategies: Scott Dodsworth to join as director of parliamentary relations.

Trade Associations

  • Public Relations Consultants Association: Barry Leggetter appointed as the first international president.


  • General Optical Council: Vicky McDermott stood down as chief executive.
Author Display Name
Dods People
About the author

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Image description
Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...