Latest civil service & public affairs moves — March 12

Written by Dods People on 12 March 2018 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Government departments

  • Department for Education: Teaching Regulation Agency – Alan Meyrick named as the first chief executive; School Teachers' Review Body – Robert Burgess and Jeanne Watson reappointed as members.
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: NneNne Iwuji-Eme has been appointed British High Commissioner to the Republic of Mozambique in succession to Joanna Kuenssberg.
  • HM Treasury: Prudential Regulation Committee – David Thorburn resigned from the committee.
  • Department for Work and Pensions: Pensions Regulator – David Fairs to become Executive Director for Regulatory Policy, Analysis and Advice in July;  Industrial Injuries Advisory Council – Lesley Rushton to replace Keith Palmer as Chair on 1 April.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Met OfficeRob Varley stood down as chief executive, and Nick Jobling appointed to the role on an interim basis.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Henry Dimbleby became lead non-executive board member with Elizabeth Buchanan, Lizzie Noel, Ben Goldsmith and Colin Day appointed as non-executive board members.

Local authorities

  • By-election results 8 March: Bolton Council – Paul Sanders elected for Farnworth – Farnworth and Kearsley First gain from Labour. (Asif Ibrahim resigned); Tameside Council – Laura Boyle elected for Droylsden East – Labour hold. (Kieran Quinn died); Nottingham Council – Cate Woodward elected for Wollaton West – Labour gain from Conservative. (Georgina Culley died); Rutland Council – Adam Lowe elected for Oakham South East – Independent gain from Conservative. (Tony Mathias resigned); Harlow Council – Chris Vince elected for Little Parndon and Hare Street – Labour hold. (Jon Clempner resigned); Dacorum Council – Lara Pringle elected for Northchurch – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative. (Alan Fantham died); Medway Council – Alex Paterson elected for Rochester West – Labour gain from Conservative. (Kelly Tolhurst MP resigned); East Hampshire Council – Jamie Matthews elected for Petersfield Bell Hill – Independent gain from Conservative. (Thomas Spencer resigned).


  • Weber Shandwick – Anthony Marlowe to become managing director
  • Field Consulting – Rob Jeffery to oversee a new energy practice.
  • Newington - Christine Quigley and Will McMyn to join as associate directors, overseeing the transport and infrastructure team and the energy and environment team respectively.
  • MDL Strategy – Michelle Di Leo to set up this new organisation.

Interest Groups

  • MHA - Sam Monaghan named as the new chief executive.
  • English National Opera - Stuart Murphy, to replace Cressida Pollock as chief executive on 3 April.
Author Display Name
Dods People
About the author

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Image description
Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...