Latest civil service & public affairs moves — May 13

Written by Dods People on 13 May 2019 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Ministerial Changes

  • Baroness Fairhead stood down as Minister of State for Trade and Export Promotion.
  • Baroness Manzoor stood down as Whip.
  • Robert Buckland appointed as Minister of State at the Ministry of Justice (previously Solicitor General).
  • Lucy Frazer appointed as Solicitor General (previously Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Ministry of Justice).
  • Paul Maynard appointed as Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Ministry of Justice (previously Government Whip).
  • Andrew Murrison appointed as Minister of State at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Government departments

  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: National Heritage Fund: Baroness Andrews reappointed as Wales committee chair; National Lottery Committee Fund: Peter Ainsworth reappointed as chair and Nat Slone as England committee chair; V&A - Nick Hoffman reappointed as trustee.
  • Department for Health and Social Care: National Independent Safeguarding Board: Jane Randall named as Chair; Jo Aubrey, Tessa Hodgson, Karen Minton, Jan Pickles and Tony Young named as members.
  • Home Office: John Tuckett has been appointed as the new immigration services commissioner, starting in the summer.

Houses of Parliament

  • House of Lords: Lord Steel of Aikwood has rejoined the Liberal Democrats.
  • House of Commons: International Trade Committee - Chris Leslie discharged and Gareth Thomas added as a member; Home Affairs Committee: Alex Norris and John Woodcock discharged and Janet Daby and Toby Perkins added as members; Justice Committee - Janet Daby discharged and Andy Slaughter added as a member; Women and Equalities Committee - Gavin Shuker discharged and Stephanie Peacock added as a member; Selection Committee - Andrew Stephenson discharged and Jeremy Quin added as a member; Environmental Audit Committee - Alex Cunningham discharged and Ruth Jones added as a member.

Devolved Authorities

  • Police Ombudsman for Northern Ireland - Marie Anderson to be recommended as the next ombudsman.


  • WA Communications: Lee Findell appointed as head of corporate, and Sarah Gullo as associate director.

Interest Groups

  • Mencap: Jan Tregelles to stand down as chief executive in autumn.
  • Plan International UK: Rose Caldwell appointed as chief executive, replacing Tanya Barron in September.
Author Display Name
Dods People
Image description
Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...