Latest civil service & public affairs moves — May 14

Written by Dods People on 14 May 2018 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Houses of Parliament

  • House of Lords: Earl Baldwin of Bewdley (Crossbench, Hereditary Peer) retired 9 May, a by-election to replace him will be held in due course.
  • House of Commons: Heidi Alexander (Labour, Lewisham East) resigned, a by-election to replace her will be held on 14 June; Transport Committee – Martin Vickers discharged; Jack Brereton appointed as a member.

Government departments

  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Samuel Thomas has been appointed Her Majesty’s first ever resident ambassador to the Islamic Republic of Mauritania.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Animal and Plant Health Agency Board – Chris Nicholson appointed as chair; Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council – Lynn Gladden to become executive chair in September when Philip Nelson stands down as chief executive.
  • Department for Transport: Marine Accident Investigation Branch – Steve Clinch to retire as chief inspector at the end of June.
  • Ministry of Defence: Mark Carleton-Smith to replace Nick Carter as chief of the general staff in June.
  • Cabinet Office: Security Vetting Appeals Panel – Antony Edwards-Stuart replaced Stephen Sibler as the new deputy chair.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Sport England – Sue James and Natalie Ceeney appointed to the board, Mohamed Elsarky to be appointed on 29 October.
  • Ministry of Justice: Prison Service Pay Review Body – Mary Carter and Luke Corkill appointed as members.

Non-ministerial departments

  • Competition and Markets Authority – Howard Cartlidge appointed CMA senior director, cartels.

Devolved authorities: Greater London Authority

  • Tony Arbour elected as chair and Jennette Arnold as deputy chair.
  • Economy Committee – Susan Hall appointed as chair replacing Caroline Russell, Andrew Dismore as deputy chair replacing Kemi Badenoch.
  • Environment Committee – Caroline Russell appointed as chair replacing Leonie Cooper, Onkar Sahota as member; Leonie Cooper as deputy chair replacing Caroline Russell.
  • GLA Oversight Committee – Gareth Bacon appointed as chair replacing Len Duvall, Len Duvall as deputy chair replacing Gareth Bacon, Jennette Arnold as a member replacing Onkar Sahota.
  • Housing Committee – Tom Copley appointed as deputy chair replacing Andrew Boff.
  • Police and Crime Committee – Unmesh Desai appointed as deputy chair replacing Sian Berry.
  • Regeneration Committee – Shaun Bailey appointed as Chair replacing Navin Shah, Navin Shah as Deputy Chair replacing Shaun Bailey, Onkar Sahota as a member replacing Andrew Dismore.
  • Transport Committee – Caroline Pidgeon appointed as chair replacing Keith Prince, Florence Eshalomi as deputy chair replacing Caroline Pidgeon, Shaun Bailey and Keith Prince appointed as members.
  • Audit Panel – Nick Gavron and Onkar Sahota appointed as members replacing Leonie Cooper and Tom Copley.
  • Budget and Performance Committee – Susan Hall appointed as a member replacing Keith Prince.
  • Devolution Working Group – Caroline Russell appointed as a member replacing Sian Berry.
  • Health Committee – Joanne McCartney appointed as a member replacing Jennette Arnold.

Think tanks

  • Localis – Liam Booth-Smith to stand down as chief executive.
  • Policy Exchange – Liam Booth-Smith to become director of policy and development.

Interest groups

  • British Red Cross – Paul Amadi appointed as chief supporter officer.
  • RSPCA – Chris Sherwood appointed as chief executive from 1 August.


  • WA Communications – Lizzie Wills promoted to director.
Author Display Name
Dods People
About the author

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Image description
Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...