Latest civil service & public affairs moves — November 5

Written by Dods People on 5 November 2018 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

House of Commons

  • Transport Committee – Ruth Cadbury replaced Luke Pollard as a member.
  • Treasury Committee – Colin Clark replaced Alister Jack as a member.

Government departments

  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Tracey Crouch resigned as parliamentary under-secretary of state for Sport and Civil Society. Ofcom – Sophie Morgan appointed to the Content Board.
  • Ministry of Justice: Parole Board – Carole Corby becamecChair, having been in the role on an interim basis.
  • Department for Transport: Accident Investigation Branches: Tri-Branch Management Board – Richard Frank Garwood appointed as chair.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Met Office Board – Hunada Nouss appointed as a non-executive director. Financial Reporting Council – Stephen Haddrill to step down as chief executive in late 2019.
  • Department for Education: Social Mobility Commission - Alastair da Costa, Liz Williams, Farrah Storr, Harvey Matthewson, Jessica Oghenegweke, Jody Walker, Pippa Dunn, Saeed Atcha, Sam Friedman, Sammy Wright, Sandra Wallace and Steven Cooper appointed as social mobility commissioners.
  • Department for International Trade: UK Trade Remedies AuthorityClaire Basset appointed as chief executive and David Wright as chair for forthcoming new body.

Non-Ministerial Departments

Devolved Authorities

  • Scottish Parliament: Public Audit and Post-Legislative Scrutiny Committee – Anas Sarwar replaced Iain Gray as a member. Education and Skills Committee – Iain Gray replaced Mary Fee as a member. Delegated Powers and Law Reform Committee – Mary Fee replaced Neil Findlay as a member. Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform Committee – Rhoda Grant replaced Alex Rowley as a member.
  • Welsh Government: Welsh Food Advisory Committee – Philip Hollington and Rebecca Lyne-Pirkis appointed as members. Natural Resources Wales – Catherine Brown, Steve Ormerod, Julia Cherrett, Rosie Plummer and Peter Rigby appointed as members of the board.

Local Authorities

  • Lewisham Council – Ian Thomas to stand down as chief executive at the end of the year.
  • North Somerset Council – Jo Walker to become chief executive in January, replacing Helen Bailey.
  • By-election Results 1st November: Kirklees Council – Will Simpson elected for Denby Dale – Labour gain from Conservative (Billy Jewitt resigned). South Gloucestershire Council – Louise Harris elected for Dodington – Liberal Democrat hold (Gloria Stephen died). Newham Council – Moniba Khan elected for Boleyn – Labour hold (Veronica Oakeshott resigned).

Interest Groups

  • Social Enterprise Scotland – Chris Martin to become chief executive.
  • Marie Curie – Matthew Reed appointed chief executiveutive, replacing Jane Collins in 2019.

Think Tanks

  • NPC - Vaughan Lindsay to replace Richard Atterbury in early 2019.
Author Display Name
Dods People
About the author

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Image description
Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...