Latest civil service & public affairs moves — November 6

Written by Dods People on 6 November 2017 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Reshuffle: 27 October

  • Baroness Anelay resigned as minister of state for Exiting the European Union.
  • Lord Callanan appointed as a minister of state at the Department for Exiting the European Union (previously parliamentary under secretary of state at the Department for Transport).
  • Lord Henley appointed as a parliamentary under secretary of state at the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.
  • Lord Duncan of Springbank appointed as a parliamentary under secretary of state at the Scotland Office and the Northern Ireland Office (previously parliamentary under secretary of state at the Scotland Office and the Wales Office).
  • Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth appointed as a parliamentary under secretary of state at the Department for Communities and Local Government and the Wales Office (previously parliamentary under secretary of state at the Department for Communities and Local Government and the Northern Ireland Office).
  • Baroness Sugg appointed as a parliamentary under secretary of state at the Department for Transport (having previously been a government whip (Baroness in waiting)).
  • Baroness Stedman-Scott appointed as a government whip (Baroness in Waiting).

Reshuffle: 2 November

  • Michael Fallon resigned as secretary of state for defence.
  • Gavin Williamson appointed as secretary of state for defence (previously chief whip).
  • Julian Smith appointed as chief whip (previously deputy chief whip).
  • Esther McVey appointed as deputy chief whip.

Houses of Parliament

  • House of Lords: Lord Plumb (Conservative, life peer) retired 3 November.
  • House of Commons: Administration Committee  David Amess, Sir Paul Beresford, Sarah Champion, John Cryer, Michael Fabricant, Colleen Fletcher, Pauline Latham, Jessica Morden, Mary Robinson and Mark Tami appointed as members; European Scrutiny Committee William Cash, Douglas Chapman, Steve Double, Richard Drax, Marcus Fysh, Kate Green, Kate Hoey, Kelvin Hopkins, Darren Jones, David Jones, Stephen Kinnock, Andrew Lewer, Michael Tomlinson, David Warburton and Philippa Whitford appointed as members; Finance Committee  Clive Betts, Chris Bryant, Geoffrey Clifton-Brown, Neil Gray, Lindsay Hoyle, Helen Jones, Stephen McPartland, Mark Menzies, Robert Syms, Mark Tami and William Wragg appointed as members; Joint Committee on Human Rights  Fiona Bruce, Karen Buck, Harriet Harman, Jeremy Lefroy and Mark Pritchard appointed as members; Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy– Margaret Beckett, Yvette Cooper, James Gray, Dominic Grieve, Dan Jarvis, Julian Lewis, Angus Brendan MacNeil, Robert Neill, Rachel Reeves, Tom Tugendhat, Stephen Twigg and Theresa Villiers appointed as members; Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments – Dan Carden, Vicky Foxcroft, Patrick Grady, John Lamont, Lee Rowley, Robert Syms and Derek Twigg appointed as members; Procedure Committee – Nick Smith appointed as a member; Speaker’s Committee for the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority – Kirsty Blackman, Chris Bryant, Cheryl Gillan, Valerie Vaz and Charles Walker appointed as members.

Government departments

  • HM Treasury: Financial Policy Committee – Elisabeth Stheeman appointed as an external member.
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Crispin Simon became British deputy high commissioner Western India and director-general for trade, economics and commercial diplomacy.
  • Department for Work and Pensions: Office for Nuclear Regulation  – Mark Foy as named as the new chief nuclear Inspector.


  • Welsh Liberal Democrats: Jane Dodds elected as leader.

Devolved authorities

  • Welsh Government: Carl Sargeant suspended from the Labour Party.
  • Reshuffle appointments: Cabinet secretary for culture, tourism and sport – Lord Elis-Thomas; Cabinet secretary for economy and transport – Ken Skates (previously Cabinet secretary for economy and infrastructure); Cabinet secretary for health and social services – Vaughan Gething (previously cabinet secretary for health, wellbeing and sport); Minister for children and social care​ – Huw Irranca-Davies; Cabinet secretary for finance – Mark Drakeford (previously cabinet secretary for finance and local government); Cabinet secretary for local government and public services – Alun Davies; Minister for housing and regeneration – Rebecca Evans (previously minister for social services and public health); Cabinet secretary for energy, planning and rural affairs – Lesley Griffiths (previously cabinet secretary for environment and rural affairs); Minister for environment – Hannah Blythyn; Cabinet secretary for education – Kirsty Williams (previously cabinet secretary for education); Minister for Welsh language and lifelong learning​ – Eluned Morgan; Leader of the House and chief whip – Julie James; Counsel general designate – Jeremy Miles.​
  • Natural Resources Wales  Clare Pillman named as the new chief executive from February.

Local authorities

  • Newark and Sherwood District Council – Andrew Muter to stand down as chief executive on 4 February.
  • Shetland Islands Council – Mark Boden to stand down as chief executive at the end of January.

By-election results 2 November

  • West Sussex Council – Martin Smith elected for Aldwick West – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative.
  • Buckinghamshire County Council – Anita Cranmer elected for Beaconsfield ​ – Conservative hold.
  • South Bucks Council – Damian Saunders elected for Beaconsfield North – Conservative hold.
  • North Devon Council – Derrick Spear elected for Braunton East – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative. 
  • Sefton Council – John Pugh elected for Duke’s  – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative.
  • Copeland Council – Tom Higgins elected for Egremont South – Labour hold.

Interest groups

  • British Liver Trust – Judi Rhys appointed as chief executive.
  • WWF – Tony Juniper appointed executive director for advocacy and campaigns.
  • The Church of England – Tashi Lassalle appointed director of communications.
About the author

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs

Add new comment

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...