Latest civil service & public affairs moves — October 9

Written by Dods People on 9 October 2017 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Government departments

  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Carolyn Davidson has been appointed Her Majesty’s ambassador to the Republic of Guatemala in succession to Tom Carter; Tom Carter has been appointed Her Majesty’s non-resident ambassador to the Republic of Honduras in succession to Carolyn Davidson; Nick Archer has been appointed Her Majesty's ambassador to the Czech Republic in succession to Jan Thompson, starting in January; Rachel Galloway has been appointed Her Majesty’s Ambassador to the Republic of Macedonia in succession to Charles Garrett, starting in July.
  • Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy: Paul Uppal appointed to the newly-established post of small business commissioner.
  • Ministry of Defence: Single Source Regulations Office – Marcine Waterman to stand down as chief executive on 24th October. Neil Swift to take the role on an interim basis.
  • Department for Exiting the European Union: Chris Hobley replaces Catherine Webb as director, market access and budget;​​ Phelim Usher-Purves to become a policy adviser. 
  • Cabinet Office: Catherine Webb named as director, EU internal issues.
  • Department for International Development: Matthew Rycroft to become the new permanent secretary from January.


  • UKIP: Henry Bolton elected as the new leader.

Devolved Authorities

  • Scottish Government: Scottish Fire and Rescue Service – Kirsty Darwent replaced Pat Watters as chair.

Local Authorities: by-election results 5 October

  • Adur Council – Lee Andrew Cohen elected for Mash Barn – Labour gain from UKIP.
  • Cheshire East Council – Joy Bratherton elected for Crewe East – Labour hold.
  • Hertsmere Council – Jeremy Newmark elected for Borehamwood Kenilworth – Labour gain from Conservative.
  • Hinckley and Bosworth Council – David William MacDonald elected for Burbage Sketchley and Stretton – Conservative hold.
  • Redcar and Cleveland Council – Deborah Lynne Dowson elected for St Germains – Liberal Democrat hold. 
  • Salford City – Mike Pevitt elected for Claremont – Labour hold.
  • South Bucks Council – Matt Bezzant elected for Burnham Lent Rise & Taplow – Conservative hold.
  • Warwick Council – Trevor Alexander Churchill Wright elected for Stoneleigh & Cubbinton – Conservative hold.


  • Independent Press Standards Organisation Complaints Committee –​ Nazir Afzal, Miranda Winram and Andrew Pettie appointed as members.

Interest Groups

  • Cancer Research UK – Harpal Kumar to stand down as chief executive in the spring.
  • Social Investment Business –​ Nick Temple to become chief executive in January.
  • St John Ambulance – Martin Houghton-Brown to become chief executive in January.


  • Delineate – Paul Edwards to become a board member.
About the author

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs

Add new comment

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles

A radical re-think for public sector transformation
2 November 2015

With the ‘low-hanging fruit’ exhausted, the public sector must approach new government saving...

Successful partnerships: working effectively with central government
26 August 2014

TCS is keen to contribute to the topic of successful partnerships between the public and private...