Latest civil service & public affairs moves — October 5

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Government departments

  • Cabinet Office: Boundary Commission for Wales – Huw Vaughan Thomas and Sam A Hartley appointed as members
  • Department of Health and Social Care: Public Health England – Sharon Peacock named as executive director and chair of the COVID-19 Genomics UK (COG-UK) consortium. NHS Track and Trace – Mike Coupe to replace Sarah-Jane Marsh as director of Covid-19 testing.
  • Cabinet Office  Helen Macnamara became deputy cabinet secretary and head of the cabinet secretariat.
  • Attorney General’s Office – Shehzad Charania became interim director general, replacing Rowena Collins Rice.
  • Northern Ireland Office – Leslie Philpott appointed as lead non-executive director, and Louise Wilson as non-executive director.
  • Department for Education: Skills and Productivity Board – Stephen van Rooyen to become chair.
  • HM Treasury: National Infrastructure Commission – Neale Coleman appointed as an expert commissioner.
  • Home Office: Security Industry Authority  Michelle Russell to become acting chief executive on 19th October, replacing Ian Todd.

Houses of Parliament

House of Lords

  • Lord Freeman (Conservative, life peer) retired from the House of Lords on 1st October.

House of Commons

  • Margaret Ferrier had the SNP Whip removed and now sits as Independent.
  • Claudia Webbe had the Labour Whip removed and now sits as Independent.
  • International Trade Committee – Lloyd Russell-Moyle replaced Matt Western as a member.
  • Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy – Edward Leigh appointed as a member.

New parliamentary private secretary appointments confirmed this week (may have been in place previously):

  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport – added Alicia Kearns as Team PPS
  • Ministry for Housing, Communities and Local Government – added Jacob Young as team PPS, replacing Nickie Aiken.
  • Ministry of Justice – added Julie Marson as team PPS, replacing Siobhan Baillie.
  • Department for Transport – moved Laura Trott from team PPS to PPS to Grant Shapps; added Gagan Mohindra as team PPS.
  • Department for Work and Pensions – added Flick Drummond as team PPS (previously PPS to Anne-Marie Trevelyan as secretary of state for international development)
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy – swapped the PPSs around: Jo Gideon now PPS to Alok Sharma and Mark Fletcher is team PPS.
  • Department for International Trade – swapped the PPSs around: Saqib Bhatti is PPS to Liz Truss and Suzanne Webb is team PPS.
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office – confirmed the PPSs from the FCO continue their roles at FCDO: Gareth Johnson is PPS to Dominic Raab and Joy Morrissey is team PPS.

See full government list of PPSs here

Political parties


  • Margaret Ferrier removed as Westminster spokesperson for manufacturing.

Devolved authorities

Northern Ireland Government

  • Education Training Inspectorate – Faustina Graham appointed as chief inspector.

Welsh Government

  • Welsh Health Specialised Services Committee – Kate Eden named as chair.

Local authorities

By-election result 1 October

  • Orkney Islands Council – Heather Woodbridge elected for North Isles – Independent gain from Independent. (Kevin Woodbridge died).
  • Cotswold District Council – Robert Weaver to become chief executive.
  • South Tyneside Council – Martin Swales to stand down as chief executive.
  • Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council – Drew Mellor elected as new Leader.
  • Cheltenham Borough Council – Steve Jordan to stand down as Leader at the May elections.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

  • Comic Relief – Fatima Ribeiro named as executive director of fundraising and creative, replacing Shabby Amini who had been in the role on an interim basis.
  • NCVO – Priya Singh named as chair-elect.
  • NAVCA – Jane Ide to stand down as chief executive on 10 November.
  • Samaritans – Keith Leslie appointed as chair.
  • The Royal Foundation – William Hague to become chair on 1 November.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – April 15


Share this page