Cabinet reshuffle: all the ministerial changes so far

Gove, Raab and Patel all stay while Sunak joins the top team as chancellor

Patel stayed in post. Photo: Stefan Rousseau/PA Wire/PA Images

Michael Gove will stay on as head of the Cabinet Office, while Dominic Raab and Priti Patel will remain in their post as as foreign and home secretaries following today’s reshuffle, No.10 has confirmed – while several secretaries of state have changed jobs.

Gove, Raab and Patel were the first ministers confirmed as staying on in their roles in today’s reshuffle, which until the resignation of Sajid Javid’s Javid as chancellor, had been expected to be a far less wide-ranging overhaul of Johnson’s cabinet than previously briefed. Here are all the moves and appointments so far:

Changing places:

  • Chief Treasury secretary Rishi Sunak replaces Sajid Javid as chancellor. A former Goldman Sachs investment banker, Sunak moved to the the Treasury last summer from the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government, where he had been a junior minister since early 2018
  • Alok Sharma has replaced Andrea Leadsom, who was sacked this morning, as business secretary. He has also been made minister for the climate summit COP26 – a position vacated by Claire Perry O'Neill when she was sacked earlier this month
  • Defence minister Anne-Marie Trevelyan has been promoted to replace Sharma as international development secretary
  • Farming minister George Eustice has been promoted to environment secretary, replacing Theresa Villiers, who was sacked
  • Cabinet Office minister Oliver Dowden was promoted to culture secretary, replacing Nicky Morgan, who stepped down
  • Suella Braverman has been appointed attorney general, and will attend cabinet, replacing Geoffrey Cox, who was sacked. Braverman has had one ministerial post to date in the Department for Exiting the European Union, from January to November 2018
  • Home Office minister Brandon Lewis has been named Northern Ireland secretary, replacing Julian Smith, who lost his job in the reshuffle
  • Penny Mordaunt becomes paymaster general in the Cabinet Office. Mordaunt was international development secretary under Theresa May before a three-month stint as defence secretary, which ended under Johnson last summer
  • Former Brexit secretary Stephen Barclay becomes chief secretary to the Treasury, replacing Sunak. He will attend cabinet
  • Amanda Milling has been appointed Conservative Party chair, minister without portfolio and a member of the cabinet
  • Europe and the Americas minister Christopher Pincher becomes a housing minister 
  • Africa minister Andrew Stephenson becomes rail minister
  • Conservative Party co-chair James Cleverly has been demoted to a joint minister for the Foreign Office and the Department for International Development
  • Former immigration minister James Brokenshire is back at the Home Office as security minister. He was most recently housing secretary from April 2018 to July 2019
  • Cabinet Office minister for implementation Jeremy Quin becomes a defence minister
  • Arts minister Helen Whately becomes social care minister
  • Environment minister Lord Zac Goldsmith, who was made a life peer to stay in his role in December when he lost his seat as MP for Richmond Park, becomes a joint minister for the Foreign Office and DfID
  • Sport and media minister Nigel Adams becomes a joint minister for the Foreign Office and DfID
  • Baroness Liz Sugg becomes a joint minister for the Foreign Office and DfID. Sugg was a transport minister from October 2017 to April 2019
  • Exchequer secretary to the Treasury Simon Clarke becomes minister for the Northern Powerhouse, replacing Jake Berry
  • Michelle Donelan becomes education minister, her first ministerial positon
  • Health minister Caroline Dinenage becomes a culture minister
  • Children's minister Kemi Badenoch becomes exchequer secretary to the Treasury, replacing Simon Clarke
  • Justice minister Chris Philp becomes Home Office minister
  • Business minister Kelly Tolhurst becomes a transport minister
  • Justice minister Wendy Morton becomes a joint minister for the Foreign Office and DfID
  • Government whip Stuart Andrew is promoted to deputy chief whip
  • Assistant government whip Marcus Jones is promoted to government whip, replacing Stuart Andrew
  • Deputy chair of the Conservative Party Paul Scully becomes a business minister and minister for London
  • James Duddridge becomes a joint minister for the Foreign Office and DfID. Duddridge had been a Brexit minister until the Department for Exiting the European Union closed on 31 January

Staying put

  • Michael Gove, who was appointed chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and cabinet office minister last summer, will remain in post. Gove had been heading up the government’s preparations for a no-deal Brexit since Boris Johnson was appointed leader of the Conservative Party in May.
  • Home secretary Priti Patel
  • Foreign secretary Dominic Raab. “Delighted to be re-appointed, looking forward to working with a fantastic team to grasp the opportunities of Global Britain,” Raab said on Twitter
  • Justice secretary Robert Buckland
  • Health and social care Matt Hancock
  • International trade secretary and Liz Truss. Truss also retains her role as women and equalities minister
  • Defence secretary Ben Wallace
  • Welsh secretary Simon Hart
  • Housing secretary Robert Jenrick remains housing secretary
  • Education secretary Gavin Williamson 
  • Work and pensions secretary Thérèse Coffey
  • Leader of the House of Lords Baroness Evans
  • Transport secretary Grant Shapps.
  • Scottish secretary Alister Jack
  • Leader of the House of Commons Jacob Rees-Mogg, who will attend cabinet
  • Chief whip Mark Spencer
  • Constitution minister Chloe Smith
  • Northern Ireland Office minister Robin Walker
  • Crime minister Kit Malthouse
  • Trade minister Conor Burns
  • Trade minister Greg Hands
  • Transport minister Chris Heaton Harris
  • Health minister Edward Argar
  • Scotland minister Douglas Ross
  • Energy minister Kwasi Kwarteng

Leaving their posts:

  • Sajid Javid, who resigned as chancellor in an apparent row over special advisers
  • Andrea Leadsom, who was sacked as business secretary
  • Theresa Villers, who was sacked as environment secretary
  • Julian Smith, who was sacked as Northern Ireland secretary
  • Geoffrey Cox, who was sacked as attorney general
  • Baroness Nicky Morgan, who stepped down as culture secretary, a role she has held since July last year. Morgan was made a Conservative peer in December, allowing her to stay on as a "stopgap" despite resigning as an MP
  • Transport ministers George Freeman and Nusrat Ghani
  • Housing and planning minister Esther McVey
  • Universities and science minister Chris Skidmore


This page will be updated as more appointments are announced this afternoon.

Read the most recent articles written by Beckie Smith - York civil service hub gets green light


Share this page