Latest civil service & public affairs moves – 18 September

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via Dods People

UK Government

  • Department of Health and Social Care NHS Pay Review Body – Philippa Hird’s term as Chair and Patricia Gordon’s term as Member extended until 31 October.
  • Law Officers Stephen Parkinson appointed as Director of Public Prosecutions and Head of the Crown Prosecution Service for five years from 1 November.
  • Northern Ireland Office Peter Sheridan appointed as Commissioner for Investigations designate.  Sheridan's formal appointment will only take place following the Northern Ireland Troubles (Legacy and Reconciliation) Bill receiving Royal Assent and establishment of the ICRIR.
  • Department for Science, Innovation and Technology Dr Dave Smith appointed as National Technology Adviser.
  • HM Treasury Bank of England – Jonathan Bewes appointed as Non-executive Director of the Court and Chair of the Court’s Audit and Risk Committee for four years from the autumn.

Houses of Parliament

House of Commons

  • Following Christopher Pincher’s appointment as Steward and Bailiff of the Manor of Northstead, a by-election to elect a new MP for Tamworth will take place on Thursday 19 October.
  • Rutherglen and Hamilton West by-election – Statement of Persons Nominated published:

Committee Chairs:

  • Business and Trade – Nominations for Chair:
    Angela Eagle
    Andy McDonald
  • Defence – Tobias Ellwood resigned as Chair – an election to replace him will take place in due course
  • Petitions – Nominations for Chair:
    Marsha De Cordova
    Cat Smith
    Liz Twist
  • Standards – Nominations for Chair:
    Stella Creasy
    Harriet Harman

Committee Membership changes:

  • Business and Trade – Douglas Chapman added; Alan Brown discharged.
  • Defence – Martin Docherty-Hughes added; Dave Doogan discharged.
  • Foreign Affairs – Brendan O’Hara added; Drew Hendry discharged.
  • Health and Social Care – Amy Callaghan added; Martyn Day discharged.
  • Justice – Chris Stephens added; Stuart C McDonald discharged.
  • Members Estimate – Lucy Powell added; Thangam Debbonaire discharged.
  • Procedure – Kirsty Blackman added; Owen Thompson discharged.
  • Treasury – Drew Hendry added; Douglas Chapman discharged.
  • Women and Equalities – Kirsten Oswald added; Anum Qaisar discharged.
  • Speaker's Committee on the Electoral Commission – Kirsty Blackman added; Owen Thompson discharged.
  • Restoration and Renewal Programme Board – Dr Michèle Dix appointed as External Member for three years.
  • Electoral Commission – Dame Susan Bruce re-appointed as Commissioner from 1 January 2024 until 31 December 2026; Carole Mills appointed as Commissioner from 1 January 2024 until 31 December 2027; Sheila Ritchie appointed as Commissioner from 1 February 2024 until 31 January 2027.

House of Lords

  • Lord Rosenfield (Conservative, life peer) was introduced on 14 September.

Devolved administrations

  • Scottish Parliament Education, Children and Young People Committee – Ruth Maguire appointed as Deputy Convener; Ben Macpherson becomes Member.
  • Northern Ireland Assembly David Hilditch retired as MLA for East Antrim on 8 September due to ill health.
  • Northern Ireland Executive

    Charity Commission for Northern Ireland – Terence McGonigal appointed as Commissioner to the Board until 31 August 2028.
    Northern Ireland Fire and Rescue Service – Cadogan Enright and Robert Irvine’s terms as Non-executive (Local Government Representative) Members until 29 February 2024.
    Sport NI – Gavin Boyd appointed as Interim Vice-chair to the Board until a public appointment competition for a permanent Vice-Chair is completed.
    Ulster Supported Employment Ltd – William Leathem re-appointed as Chair until 31 July 2027; Raymond Havlin re-appointed as Member to the Board until 31 July 2027.



Interest Groups

  • Birmingham Children’s Trust – James Thomas appointed as Chief Executive.
  • Brain Tumour Research – Dan Knowles appointed as Chief Executive from 18 September.
  • Campaign for Science and Engineering (CaSE) – Professor Sarah Main to step down as Executive Director at the end of November to take up a new position as Vice-President, Academic and Government Relations, UK at Elsevier.
  • Full Fact – Chris Morris appointed as Chief Executive from October.
  • Refuge – Ruth Davison to stand down as Chief Executive.
  • Royal Association for Deaf people – Mark Wheatley appointed as Chief Executive from January 2024.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 20


HR Leadership
Share this page