Latest civil service & public affairs moves — February 17

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People


Sign up here to recieve Dods People Moves briefing in your email inbox every week


All details of the new government, with comparisons to the old government can be found here

Government departments

  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Harriet Cross appointed as British High Commissioner to the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago in succession to Tim Stew in July; Paul Fox appointed as Her Majesty’s Ambassador to Hungary in succession to Iain Lindsay in September; Simon Martin appointed as Her Majesty’s Ambassador to the Kingdom of Morocco in succession to Thomas Reilly.
  • Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Civil Nuclear Constabulary - Louise Harrison to become assistant chief constable on 17 February.
  • HM Treasury: Financial Conduct Authority – Sheldon Mills to become interim executive director of strategy and competition on 16 March.
  • Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government: Permanent secretary Melanie Dawes to stand down in March to become chief executive of Ofcom; Homes England - Harry Swales appointed as executive director of markets, partners and places.

Devolved authorities

  • Welsh Government: Ken Skates appointed as Minister for North Wales, remaining as Minister for Economy and Transport.
  • Northern Ireland Government: Northern Ireland Transport Holding Company - Mark Sweeney named as interim chair.
  • Northern Ireland Assembly: Business Committee - Gary Middleton replaced George Robinson as a member.
  • National Assembly for Wales: Nick Ramsay re-instated as a Conservative AM; Assembly Commission - Rhun ap Iorwerth replaces Sian Gwenllian as a member.

Local Authorities

  • Cheshire East Council: Lorraine O’Donnell due to replace Kath O’Dwyer as chief executive; By-election Results 13 February: East Staffordshire council – Laura Beech elected for Yoxall – Conservative hold (caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor Alan Johnson); Huntingdonshire council – Adam Roberts elected for St Ives  East – Conservative hold (caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor Jason Ablewhite); Hertsmere council – Brett Rosehill elected for Borehamwood Kenilworth – Conservative gain from Labour (caused by the resignation of Labour councillor Kumail Jaffer); Waverley council – Maxine Gale elected for Milford – Independent gain from Independent. (caused by the death of Independent councillor Jack Lee); Thanet council – Marc Rattigan elected for Cliffsend and Pegwell – Conservative hold (caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor David Stevens).


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

  • Pilotlight: Ed Mayo to replace Gillian Murray as chief executive in the summer; Action for Children – Julie Bentley to resign as chief executive.

Trade Associations

  • RenewableUK: Melanie Onn to become deputy chief executive on 9 March.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 13


Share this page