Latest civil service & public affairs moves — July 29

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People


Sign up here to recieve Dods People Moves briefing in your email inbox every week

Boris Johnson replaced Theresa May as Prime Minister on 24th July; see the resulting reshuffle here

Government departments

  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Financial Reporting Council - Simon Dingemans appointed as chair, starting in the autumn.
  • Cabinet Office: Office for Tackling Injustices - Ruby McGregor-Smith was named as the first Chair and Jil Matheson as deputy chair; Advisory Committee on Business Appointments – Lord Whitty named as the Labour member, and Lord Pickles will become the Conservative member on 1st January, replacing Baroness Browning.
  • Home Office: Migration Advisory Committee - Madeleine Sumption has been reappointed as chair for a further three years; Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs - Owen Bowden-Jones reappointed as chair.
  • Department for Education: Ofsted - Julie Kirkbride, Hamid Patel, Martin Spencer, Carole Stott and Baroness Wyld appointed as board members, and John Cridland and Venessa Wilms reappointed; Ofqual - Susan Barratt, Matt Tee and Mike Thompson appointed as board members, and Roger Taylor reappointed as Chair.
  • Ministry of Defence: Defence Science and Technology Laboratory - Adrian Belton has been named as the new chair, replacing David Pepper; Defence and Security Accelerator – Anita Friend named as the new Head.
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Caron Röhsler has been appointed Her Majesty’s Ambassador to the Republic of Maldives in succession to James Dauris.
  • Ministry of Justice: Prison Service Pay Review Body - Tim Flesher appointed as chair from August; Insolvency Rules Committee – Catherine Addy reappointed as a barrister member and David Leibowitz as a practising solicitor member.
  • Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government: John Mann MP was named as an independent adviser on anti-Semitism.

Non-Ministerial Departments

  • Supreme Court:  Robert Reed to become president on 11th January, replacing Baroness Hale of Richmond.

House of Lords

  • Lord MacGregor of Pulham Market (Conservative, Life Peer) retired on 26th July.
  • Baroness Gould of Potternewton (Labour, Life Peer) retired on 22nd July.
  • Lord Holmes of Richmond is now sitting as non-affiliated; he was Conservative.
  • Lord Lupton is now sitting as non-affiliated; he was Conservative.
  • Baroness Falkner of Margravin is now sitting as non-affiliated; she was Liberal Democrat.
  • Robert Reed to receive a peerage in January, when he becomes President of the Supreme Court.

House of Commons

  • Charlie Elphicke had the Conservative Whip withdrawn and now sits as independent.

Local Authorities

  • Kim McGuinness elected as Northumbria’s police and crime commissioner.
  • By-election Result 24 July: City of London Corporation – John Edwards elected for Farringdon Within – Independent gain from Independent. (caused by the resignation of Thomas Anderson).
  • By-election Results 25 July: Gloucester Council – Ashley Bowkett elected for Barnwood – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative. (caused by the death of Lise Noakes); Sebastian Field elected for Podsmead - Liberal Democrat gain from Labour. (caused by the resignation of Deborah Smith); Hartlepool Council – Ann Johnson elected for Hart – Labour hold. (caused by the resignation of Jean Robinson who had been sitting as an Independent).


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

  • The Royal Foundation: Lorraine Heggessey will stand down as chief executive in the autumn, and Jason Knauf will take up the role.

Trade Unions

  • Royal College of Midwives – Sasha Wells, Neil Tomlin, Natalie Linder, Dee Davies, Keelie Barrett, Janet Ballintine, Sarah Jones have been elected to the board as members.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 28


Share this page