Latest civil service & public affairs moves – July 4

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

UK Government

  • Prime Minister's Office – The Rt Revd Dr Eleanor Sanderson’s nomination approved to the Suffragan See of Hull, succeeding Rt Revd Alison White following her retirement.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Competition and Markets Authority – The Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee has approved the appointment of Marcus Bokkerink as chair.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: British Library – Richard Blakeway, Mary Hockaday and Tom Holland appointed as members of the board until 30 June 2026.
  • Department for Education: School Teacher’s Review Body – Martin Post re-appointed as board member for three years from 1 October.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Environment Agency – Alan Lovell has been announced as the government's preferred candidate for chair. The Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Select Committee and the Environmental Audit Committee will now hold a joint pre-appointment hearing on Tuesday 5 July and report on Lovell's suitability for the post.
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office - Thomas Hartley appointed as high commissioner to the Commonwealth of The Bahamas from August, succeeding Sarah Dickson who is going to another diplomatic service appointment. Nicolette Brent MBE appointed as high commissioner to the Republic of Vanuatu from December, succeeding Karen Bell who is going to another diplomatic service appointment.
  • Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities: Levelling Up Advisory Council – Andy Haldane appointed as chair. Regulator of Social Housing – Fiona MacGregor to stand down as chief executive due to family circumstances in the new year. She will be supported by the deputy chief executive Jonathan Walters who has assumed some additional responsibilities.
  • Department for Transport: Active Travel England – Chris Boardman appointed as permanent national active travel commissioner, having been the interim commissioner since January; Danny Williams appointed as chief executive from August; Louise Wilkinson appointed chief operating officer from August; Graham Grant appointed as director of planning and development from the autumn.
  • HM Treasury: Bank of England's Monetary Policy Committee – The Treasury Committee has approved the appointment of Dr Swati Dhingra.

Houses of Parliament

House of Commons

  • Christopher Pincher resigned as deputy chief whip (treasurer of HM household) on 30 June.
  • European Scrutiny Committee – Geraint Davies added; David Lammy discharged.
  • European Statutory Instruments Committee – Mark Hendrick added; Jo Stevens discharged.
  • Home Affairs Committee – James Daly added; Matt Vickers discharged.
  • Justice Committee – James Daly added; Matt Vickers discharged.
  • Welsh Affairs Committee – Wayne David added; Tonia Antoniazzi discharged.

House of Lords

  • Lord Lang of Monkton (Conservative, life peer) retired from the House of Lords on 30 June.


  • Labour - Mike Amesbury MP resigned as shadow minister for local government.
  • Scottish National Party - Patrick Grady MP resigned from his party membership and now sits as an independent MP.

Devolved Administrations:

Scottish Government

  • Deputy First Minister John Swinney will take on responsibility for the finance and economy portfolio from 16 July when cabinet secretary Kate Forbes starts her maternity leave, while retaining his deputy first minister role and responsibility for Covid recovery. Some of John Swinney’s responsibilities will temporarily move: cross-government delivery of 'The Promise' to care experienced young people will be the direct responsibility of the first minister, cross-government co-ordination on UN treaty incorporation will be taken on by the education portfolio, local governance review and democratic renewal will be taken on by the social justice portfolio and resilience will pass to the justice portfolio.

Welsh Government

  • Citizen Voice Body for Health and Social Care – Grace Quantick appointed as deputy chair; Bamidele Adenipekun, Jason Smith, Barbara Harrington, Karen Lewis, Rajan Madhok and Jack Evershed appointed as non-executive members for four years.
  • National Infrastructure Commission for Wales – David Clubb appointed as chair; Jennifer Baxter appointed as deputy chair; Helen Armstrong, Stephen Brooks, Aleena Khan, Eluned Parrott, Eurgain Powell and Nick Tune appointed as commissioners.
  • Vocational Qualifications Review Board – Sharron Lusher appointed as chair.

Combined Authorities

  • Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority – Gordon Mitchell appointed as interim chief executive from 4 July.

Local Authorities

Interested in an updated contact list of Local Government leaders? Get in contact with your Dods Account Manager or Customer Services for more details.

  • Devon County Council – Dr Phil Norrey to retire as chief executive.
  • Sheffield City Council – Kate Josephs to resume her role as chief executive.
  • Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council – Sandra Stewart appointed as interim chief executive.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

  • Hospice UK – Toby Porter appointed as chief executive from September.
  • Institution of Engineering and Technology – Nigel Fine stepped down as chief executive and secretary on 30 June; Ed Almond appointed as interim chief executive and secretary from 1 July.

Trade Associations

  • Confederation of British Industry – Brian McBride appointed as president, having previously been vice-president; former president Lord Bilimoria appointed vice-president.
  • CBI Northern Ireland – Elaine Birchall MBE appointed as chair from 1 July, succeeding Adrian Doran, who will now assume the post of vice-chair until the end of 2022.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – April 15


Share this page