Latest civil service & public affairs moves — October 21

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People


By Dods People

21 Oct 2019

Sign up here to recieve Dods People Moves briefing in your email inbox every week

Government departments

  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Paul Uppal has stepped down as small business commissioner.; HM Land Registry – Simon Hayes has been appointed as the new chief executive.
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Jon Lambe has been appointed as the United Kingdom Ambassador to the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) in Jakarta, in succession to Moazzam Malik CMG.
  • Cabinet Office: Government Property Agency – Newcastle City Council chief executive Pat Ritchie has been appointed as chair for a four-year term.
  • Home Office: Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs – Dr Owen Boden-Jones has been reappointed as Chair. The three-year term starts on the 1 January 2020.
  • HM Revenue and Customs: Melissa Tatton has been appointed as the new Tax Assurance Commissioner.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Wallace Collection – Antonio Horta-Osorio has been reappointed as chair. The term begins on 1 January 2020; Reviewing Committee on the Export of Works of Art – Christopher Baker and Stuart Lochhead have been appointed as members for a four-year term, beginning on the 1 October 2019; Historic England Board – Sandie Dawe has been appointed as Commissioner for a four-year term from the 1 January 2020.
  • Ministry of Defence: Defence Science and Technology Laboratory – Simon Devonshire OBE has been appointed as the new Chairman.

Non-Ministerial Departments

  • Competition and Markets Authority – Stuart Hudson has been appointed to the newly-created role of senior director for strategy, communications, nations and regions.

House of Commons

  • Ugbana Oyet has been announced as the new Serjeant at Arms.
  • Speaker’s Committee for the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority (SCIPSA): Peter Blausten appointed as new lay member. The term begins in January 2020

House of Lords

  • Four new peers introduced into the House of Lords this week – Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle (Green), Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row (Conservative), Lord Barwell (Conservative) and Lord Davies of Gower (Conservative).

Devolved Authorities

Northern Ireland Executive

  • Criminal Justice Inspection Northern Ireland: Jacqui Durkin has been appointed as chief inspector Brendan McGuigan’s successor from the 30 November 2019.

Local Authorities

  • Dover District Council: Keith Morris has resigned as council leader.
  • Kent County Council: Roger Gough replaces Paul Carter as council leader.
  • Thanet Council: Rick Everitt replaces Bob Brayford as council leader.
  • Anglesey Council: Annwen Morgan has replaced Gwynne Jones as chief executive.
  • By-election Results 17 October: North Yorkshire County Council – Yvonne Peacock elected for Upper Dales – Conservative gain (caused by the death of Independent councillor John Blackie); Richmondshire District Council – Jill McMullon elected for Hawes, High Abbotside and Upper Swaledale – Independent hold (caused by the death of Independent councillor John Blackie); Liverpool CIty Council – Joanne Anderson elected for Princes Park – Labour hold (caused by the resignation of Labour councillor Timothy Moore); Gravesham Borough Council – Helen Ashenden elected for Westcourt – Conservative gain (caused by the death of Labour councillor Ruth Martin).

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – June 27


Share this page