Latest civil service & public affairs moves — March 25

Written by Dods People on 25 March 2019 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Government departments

  • Ministry of Justice: Judicial Appointments Commission – Lord Ajay Kakkar reappointed as Chair.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Sports Grounds Safety Authority – Susan Johnson, Philip Kolvin and David Mackinnon appointed as board members. Imperial War Museum – Amjad Hussain, Tamsin Todd and Matthew Westerman reappointed as trustees. Historic England – Michael Morrison reappointed as a commissioner.
  • HM Treasury: Will Garton to become director, public services. Olaf Henricson-Bell to replace Will Garton as press secretary.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Environment Agency – Emma Howard Boyd reappointed as chair.
  • Department for Health and Social Care – Michael Brady appointed as National Adviser for LGBT Health in the NHS.

House of Parliament

  • House of Lords: Lord Macdonald of River Glaven has moved from non-affiliated to crossbench
  • House of Commons: Foreign Affairs Committee – Ian Austin and Mike Gapes discharged and Conor McGinn and Catherine West added as members. Procedure Committee – Dan Carden discharged and Gareth Snell added as a member

Local Authorities

  • Dudley Council – Sarah Norman to stand down as chief executive in the summer.
  • Merseyside Police and Crime Commissioner – PCC Jane Kennedy resigned from the Labour Party.
  • By-election Results 8th November: Thurrock Council – David Van Day elected for Aveley and Uplands – Conservative gain from Thurrock Independents (Tim Aker MEP resigned). Basildon Council – Aidan McGurran elected for Vange – Labour hold (Kayte Block resigned). Southend-on-Sea Council – Stephen George elected for Milton – Labour hold (Julian Ware-Lane died). Kensington and Chelsea Council – Kasim Ali elected for Dalgarno – Labour hold (Robert Thompson resigned). Newcastle-under-Lyme Council – Kenneth Owen elected for Holditch and Chesterton – Independent gain from Labour (Chris Spence resigned). Durham Council – Beverley Coult elected for Esh and Witton Gilbert – Liberal Democrat hold (Michael McGaun resigned).

Interest groups

  • Child Helpline International  Patrick Krens appointed as executive director, starting in April.
  • Save the Children UK – Gemma Sherrington named as fundraising director.


  • Legal & General Group  Steve Ellis has been appointed as chief executive of Legal & General Retail Retirement Living Solutions and Claire Singleton appointed as chief executive of Legal & General Home Finance.
  • Royal Mail Group – Keith Williams to succeed Les Owen as chair in May.

Trade Associations

  • Confederation of British Industry – Isabel Dedring to succeed Vivian Hunt as chair, CBI London Council and Judith Everett to become deputy chair.
  • Universities UK – Julia Buckingham elected as president, replacing Janet Beer from August.
Author Display Name
Dods People
Image description
Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles