Arrivals, moves & departures: latest appointments in the civil service, politics and public affairs – April 1

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues on Dods People

Government departments

  • Department for Work and Pensions: Andrew Rhodes appointed Director General, DWP Operations.
  • Wales Office: Alun Cairns has been appointed Secretary of State for Wales; Guto Bebb appointed Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, and a Government Whip
  • HM Treasury: UK Financial Investments Ltd – Oliver Holbourn appointed as Chief Executive, and James Leigh-Pemberton as Chair.
  • Department for Culture, Media and Sport
  • National Gallery - Rosemary Leith and Katrin Henkel appointed as Trustees.
  • Home Office: Lord Bates resigned as a Minister of State; Lord Keen of Elie appointed as spokesperson for the Home Office in the House of Lords.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Environment Agency - Richard Macdonald reappointed to the Board and named Acting Deputy Chair.
  • Department for Business, Innovation and Skills: Advisory Conciliation and Arbitration Service - Michael Clancy appointed as member; Industrial Development Advisory Board - Mark Bryant, Kevin Taylor and John Drake appointed as members.
  • Department for Education: Shan Scott appointed as Chief Schools Adjudicator; Council of the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment – Michelle Crilly and John Wilkinson reappointed as Board Members.
  • Government Actuary's Department: Steve Humphrey appointed Head of Specialist Actuarial.

House of Lords

  • Lord Barber of Tewkesbury (Crossbench, life peer) retired from the House of Lords on 25th March.
  • Baroness Knight of Collingtree (Conservative, life peer) retires from the House of Lords on 24th March.

House of Commons

  • The writ for the Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough by-election has been moved. It will take place on 5th May.
  • The writ for the Ogmore by-election has been moved. It will take place on 5th May

Scottish Government 

  • Frank Mulholland to stand down as Lord Advocate in May.

Welsh Government

  • Careers Wales - Debra Williams has been appointed as the new Chair; Sport Wales - Paul Thomas appointed Chair; Arts Council of Wales – Phil George appointed as Chair; Chief Medical Officer Ruth Hussey retires.


  • Federation of Small Businesses - Mike Cherry elected as National Chair; Martin McTague elected as National Policy Director; Craig Beaumont has been promoted to Head of External Affairs UK and Louise Stewart has joined as Head of Media.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 28

Share this page