Arrivals, moves & departures: latest appointments in the civil service, politics and public affairs – February 2

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues on Dods People

Government departments

  • Ministry of Justice: Parole Board - Nick Hardwick is to replace David Calvert-Smith as Chair; Paul  Kernaghan  named  as the Judicial Appointments and Conduct Ombudsman. 
  • Department for Work and Pensions: Pensions Regulator –  Tilly Ross, Sarah  Smart and Margaret Snowdon appointed as members of the Board; Pensions Advisory Service: Museji Ahmed Takolia appointed as Chair.  
  • Department for Culture, Media & Sport: Fields Wicker - Miurin and Neil Mendoza  appointed as Non-Executive Board Members.  
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Fionna Gibb has been appointed Her Majesty's Ambassador to the Republic of Belarus.  
  • HM Treasury: Financial Conduct Authority – Andrew Bailey to become the new Chief Executive.  
  • Department for Transport: Rail Accident Investigation Branch -  Simon French has been appointed as the new Chief Inspector. 

Non-ministerial Departments  

  • Office of Communications – Charles Gurassa appointed Chair of Channel 4.  

House of Lords  

  • Trade Union Political Funds and Political Party Funding Select Committee  – Lord Burns appointed as Chair; Lord Richard, Lord  Callanan, Lord Robathan, Lord de Mauley, Lord  Sherbourne of Didsbury, Baroness Dean of Thornton-le-Fylde, Lord Tyler, Baroness Drake, Lord  Whitte, Earl of Kinnoull and Lord Wrigglesworth appointed as members.  

House of Commons  

  • Robin Fell, Acting Deputy Sergeant of Arms, and  Owen Sweeney, Deputy Deliverer of the Vote are to retire.   

Northern Ireland Assembly  

  • Alastair Patterson replaced Neil Somerville as UUP MLA for Fermanagh and South Tyrone.  


Local Authorities

  • Sunderland Council – Irene Lucas to become Interim Chief Executive in April.  
  • Stafford Council - Ian Thompson is to retire as Chief Executive later this year.  
  • Industry, Trade Associations and Interest Groups
  • Nuclear Industry Association: Tom Greatrex has been appointed  as Chief Executive.  
  • Association of British Insurers: Alastair Ross will be the new Head of Public Policy from March.  
  • Association of School and College Leaders: Malcolm Trobe  to replace Brian Lightman as General Secretary.  
  • Unicef UK  – Michael Penrose to replace David Bull as Executive Director in May.

More on HR, Skills & Personal Development
Leadership: finding and nurturing future civil service talent

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 20

Share this page