Arrivals, moves & departures: latest appointments in the civil service, politics and public affairs – January 18

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues on Dods People

Government departments:

  • Department for Education/Department of Health – DfE Permanent Secretary Chris Wormald to succeed Dame Una O'Brien as DH Permanent Secretary in April.
  • Department for Communities and Local Government: Homes and Communities Agency – Andy Rose to stand down as Chief Executive in April.
  • Department for Culture, Media and Sport: Heritage Lottery Fund: Neil Cossons appointed as Trustee; Theatres Trust – Patrick Dillon and Richard Baldwin appointed as members.
  • Office of Communications: Ben Verwaayen and Bill Emmott joined the board as non-executive members.
  • HM Revenue & Customs: Lin Homer to stand down as Chief Executive and Permanent Secretary in April.

Labour Party

  • Catherine McKinnell resigned as Shadow Attorney General
  • Karl Turner appointed as Shadow Attorney General
  • Jo Stevens appointed as Shadow Solicitor General
  • Imran Hussain appointed as Shadow Minister, Department for International Development
  • Kate Osamor appointed as Shadow Minister, Women and Equalities
  • Thangam Debbonaire appointed as Shadow Minister, Department for Culture, Media and Sport
  • Dave Anderson appointed as a Whip.

Devolved administrations

  • Scotland: Richard Baker (Labour, North East Scotland) stood down as MSP, and was replaced by Lesley Brennan.
  • Wales: Standards of Conduct Committee – John Griffiths appointed as Chair; Jeff Cuthbert appointed as member.
  • Northern Ireland:  Peter Robinson stood down as First Minister, replaced by Arlene Foster; Mervyn Storey appointed as Minister for Finance and Personnel; Lord Morrow appointed as Minister for Social Development; Gerard Diver replaced Pat Ramsey as SDLP MLA for Foyle; Danoel McCrossan replaced Joe Byrne as SDLP MLA for West Tyrone; Neil Somerville, UUP MLA for Fermanagh and South Tyrone, is to stand down and be replaced by the end of January;

Local Authorities

  • Lewes District Council – Robert Cottrill named as the new Chief Executive, sharing with his current role in Eastbourne Borough Council; Essex Council – Gavin Jones to become the Chief Executive; Havering Council – Cheryl Coppell to retire as Chief Executive later this year.

Industry & interest groups

  • Chartered Insurance Institute – Sian Fisher appointed Chief Executive.
  • British Association of Social Workers – Ruth Allen to become Chief Executive in April.
  • Liberty – Shami Chakrabarti to stand down as Director.
  • Save the Children International – Helle Thorning-Schmidt announced as new Chief Executive, replacing Jasmine Whitbread.
  • Save the Children UK – Tanya Steele appointed interim Director.

More on HR, Skills & Personal Development
Leadership: finding and nurturing future civil service talent

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 28

Share this page