Defra names new deputy for Environment Agency board

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs appoints Emma Howard Boyd to agency

By Sarah Aston

24 Jul 2015

Emma Howard Boyd has been named as the new deputy chair of the Environment Agency Board, Defra announced today.

Howard Boyd – who is also chair of the Audit and Risk Assurance Committee and sits on the Pensions and Flood and Coastal Regional Management Committees – took up the role on the July 1.

In her role as deputy chair, Boyd will be responsible for providing non-executive leadership challenge and support to the agency.

Related articles:

Bronwyn Hill to step down as Defra permanent secretary
Climate of uncertainty: What's next for Decc and Defra?
Spending review: An opportunity to redesign services for the better?

In addition to Boyd’s appointment, Defra also announced the re-appointment of board members John Varley, Karen Burrows and Peter Ainsworth.

Both Burrows and Ainsworth will serve on the board until August 2018, while Varley will stay on until September 2019.
Set up under the 1995 Environment Act, the Environment Agency is responsible for issues relating to flood management, water resources and climate change, as well as the UK’s conservation efforts.

Share this page