Latest civil service & public affairs moves — April 6

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People


Sign up here to recieve Dods People Moves briefing in your email inbox every week

Government departments

  • Cabinet Office – Ian Cheshire stood down as lead non-executive director for the Cabinet Office. Alex Chisholm named as the new permanent secretary and chief operating officer for the civiervice.
  • MI5 – Ken McCallum to replace Andrew Parker as director general at the end of April..
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Horserace Betting Levy Board – Paul Darling appointed as chair, Anne Lambert appointed as a member.
  • Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government – Jeremy Pocklington named as the new permanent secretary, having been in the role on an interim basis.
  • Treasury: Bank of England Monetary Policy Committee – Silvana Tenreyro reappointed as an external member.
  • Department of Health and Social Care: NHS Property Services – Martin Steele named as the acting chief executive.

House of Lords

  • Lord Gordon of Strathblane (Labour, life peer) died on 31 March.
  • Lord Brookman (Labour, life peer) retired from the House of Lords on 2 April.

Devolved authorities

  • Northern Ireland Assembly: Public Accounts Committee – Andrew Muir replaced Trevor Lunn as a member. Ad Hoc Committee on the COVID-19 response – Keith Buchanan, John O’Dowd, Dolores Kelly, Robbie Butler, Kellie Armstrong and Clare Bailey appointed as members of the new committee.
  • Scottish Parliament – Lewis Macdonald elected as an additional deputy presiding officer for the duration of the public response to the novel coronavirus Covid-19 pandemic.
  • Northern Ireland Government: Northern Ireland Water Board – Len O'Hagan reappointed as chair. Agricultural Wages Board – Patricia O'Callaghan reappointed as an independent member.

Local authorities

  • Birmingham City Council – Chris Naylor to become interim chief executive.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

  • Survation – Carl Shoben to become Director of Strategic Communications.
  • Farm Africa  Dan Collison appointed as chief executive.
  • The Vision Foundation – Judith Brodie named as interim chief executive.
  • Protect – Liz Gardiner named as chief executive, having been in the role on an interim basis.
  • Royal Society for Public Health – Christina Marriott to replace Shirley Cramer as chief executive in May.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 20


Share this page