Latest civil service & public affairs moves – July 11

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

UK government

  • Prime Minister's Office – The Reverend Prebendary James Grier’s nomination to the Suffragan See of Plymouth approved, succeeding The Right Reverend Nicholas McKinnel following his retirement.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy – Nick Winser CBE appointed as UK's first Electricity Networks Commissioner. Research England – Professor Dame Jessica Corner selected as the preferred candidate for the role of Executive Chair. Corner is subject to a pre-appointment hearing by the Science and Technology Select Committee on 20 July.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: National Lottery Community Fund – Richard Collier-Keywood OBE, Stuart Hobley, Helen Stephenson CBE and Peter Stewart MVO appointed as Board Members for four years from 1 July until 30 June 2026. Museum of the Home – John Shakeshaft appointed as Interim Chair until 15 August. Science Museum Group – Professor Anya Hurlbert, Baroness Morgan, Professor Gregory Radick and Sarah Sands appointed as Trustees for four years from 1 November until 31 October 2026.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Committee on Mutagenicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment – Paul Rawlinson appointed as Member for three years from 1 July.
  • HM Treasury: Financial Conduct Authority – Ashley Alder appointed as Chair for five years from January 2023; Dr Alice Maynard and Liam Coleman re-appointed to the Board for three years.
  • Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual) – Hardip Begol, Mark Farrar, Cindy Leslie, Eileen Milner, Chris Paterson and Clare Pelham appointed as Board Members for three years from 1 July.

Government resignations and reshuffle

Details of last week's resignations can be found here and new appointments this week can be found here

Houses of Parliament

House of Commons

  • Science and Technology Committee – Committee Chair Greg Clark appointed as Secretary of State for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities so an election to appoint a new Chair will take place in due course.
  • European Scrutiny Committee – John Baron, Adam Holloway and Gavin Robinson added; Andrea Jenkyns, Marco Longhi and Anne Marie Morris discharged.
  • Health and Social Care Committee – Paulette Hamilton and Rachael Maskell added; Barbara Keeley and Sarah Owen discharged.
  • Public Accounts Committee – Olivia Blake added; Kate Osamor discharged.
  • Public Accounts Commission – Jerome Mayhew added; Sir Edward Leigh discharged.
  • Speaker's Committee on the Electoral Commission – Kemi Badenoch and Michael Gove discharged.

House of Lords

  • Hereditary peer by-election: Lord Remnant and Lord Wrottesley announced as the two new Conservative peers on 6 July.

Political parties


  • Christopher Pincher MP – Conservative Whip suspended; he now sits as an Independent MP.


  • Kerry McCarthy MP appointed as Shadow Minister for Climate Change.

Devolved administrations

Scottish Government

  • Mark Logan appointed as Chief Entrepreneur.
  • Scottish Environment Protection Agency – Nicole Paterson appointed as Chief Executive from October.

Welsh Government

  • Centre for Digital Public Services – Sharon Gilburd appointed as Chair; John-Mark Frost, Andrea Gale, Samina Ali, Ben Summers and Neil Prior appointed as Board Members.
  • National Adviser for Violence Against Women, Gender Based Violence, Domestic Abuse and Sexual Violence – Yasmin Khan re-appointed from 1 August until 31 July 2025; Johanna Robinson appointed from 1 August until 31 July 2025. The role is carried out on a job share basis.

Northern Ireland Executive

  • South Eastern Regional College – John Nugent appointed as Chair of the Governing Body for four years from 1 August.
  • Southern Regional College – Dr Thomas Moore appointed as Chair of the Governing Body for four years from 1 August.

Local authorities

Interested in an updated contact list of Local Government leaders? Get in contact with your Dods Account Manager or Customer Services for more details.

  • Birmingham City Council – Deborah Cadman appointed as permanent Chief Executive, having been Interim Chief Executive for just over a year.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest groups

  • Bookmark Reading – Graihagh Crawshaw-Sadler appointed as Chief Executive from September.
  • National Voices’ – Dr Charlotte Augst will stand down as Chief Executive towards the end of October, after three and a half years in the role.
  • UKSA – Richard Stokes appointed as Chair of Trustees, replacing Kevin George who is stepping down in September.

Check out a selection of upcoming courses from our colleagues at Dods Training:

  • Political Awareness and Influencing Workshop – 20 July 2022 (Online)
  • Understanding the NHS – 9 September 2022 (London)
  • How Policy Works – 14 September 2022 (Online) For the full list and to book your place click here.

Upcoming Dods Training webinar:

  • Effective Collaboration in Risk Mitigation and Crisis Communications – 12 July 2022

All audiences are welcome. To register, click here

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – April 8


Share this page