Latest civil service & public affairs moves — July 15

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People


Sign up here to recieve Dods People Moves briefing in your email inbox every week

Government departments

  • Ministry of Justice: Office of the Public Guardian – Nick Goodwin has taken over the role of public guardian due to the retirement of Alan Eccles. Sentencing Council – Rosina Cottage QC has been reappointed for a term of three years beginning on 19 July.
  • Cabinet Office / HM Treasury: Infrastructure and Projects Authority – Nick Smallwood announced as chief executive.
  • Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government – Professor Alan Penn has been appointed chief scientific adviser. Homes England – Simon Dudley has been appointed Senior Independent Director.
  • Ministry of Defence: Joint Forces Command – Peter Homa appointed director general of Defence Medical Services.

Houses of Parliament

House of Lords

  • Communications Select Committee – Baroness Bull, Baroness Grender, Lord McInnes of Kilwinning, Lord Storey and the Lord Bishop of Worcester have replaced Baroness Kidron, Baroness Benjamin, Lord Goodlad, Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury and the Lord Bishop of Chelmsford as members.
  • Consolidation Bills Joint Select Committee – Lord Clarke of Stone-cum-Ebony replaces Lord Carswell as a member. Lord Clarke of Stone-cum-Ebony appointed as chair.
  • Constitution Select Committee – Lord Faulks, Baroness Fookes, Lord Hennessy of Nympsfield, Lord Howarth of Newport and Lord True have replaced Lord Hunt of Wirral, Lord MacGregor of Pulham Market, Lord Judge, Lord Morgan and Lord Norton of Louth as members.
  • Delegated Powers and Regulatory Reform Select Committee – Baroness Browning, Lord Goddard of Stockport, Lord Haselhurst, Lord Haskel and Baroness Meache have replaced Lord Flight, Lord Thomas of Gresford, Lord Moynihan, Lord Jones and Lord Lisvane as members.
  • Economic Affairs Select Committee – Viscount Chandos, Lord Cunningham of Felling, Lord Fox, Lord Livingston of Parkhead, Lord Skidelsky and Lord Stern of Brentford have replaced Lord Layard, Lord Livermore, Lord Sharkey, Lord Lamont of Lerwick, Lord Kerr of Kinlochard and Lord Turnbull as members.
  • European Union Select Committee – Lord Cavendish of Furness, Baroness Couttie, Baroness Donaghy, Lord Faulkner of Worcester, Baroness Hamwee, Lord Kerr of Kinlochard, Baroness Primarolo and Lord Wood of Anfield have replaced Baroness Noakes, the Earl of Lindsay, Lord Whitty, Lord Liddle, Baroness Suttie, Lord Cromwell, Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top and Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws as members.
  • Human Rights Joint Select Committee – Lord Brabazon of Tara, Baroness Ludford, Baroness Massey of Darwen, Lord Morris of Handsworth and Lord Singh of Wimbledon have replaced Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne, Baroness Hamwee, Baroness Prosser, Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon and Lord Woolf as members.
  • International Relations Select Committee – Lord Alton of Liverpool, Baroness Blackstone, Baroness Fall, Lord Mendelsohn and Baroness Rawlings have replaced Baroness Coussins, Baroness Hilton of Eggardon, Lord Howell of Guildford, Lord Wood of Anfield and Lord Jopling as members. Baroness Anelay of St Johns appointed as chair.
  • Liaison Select Committee – Lord Bradley and Lord Tyler have replaced Lord Foulkes of Cumnock and Baroness Garden of Frognal as members.
  • National Security Strategy Joint Select Committee – Baroness Hodgson of Abinger and Baroness Neville-Rolfe have replaced Lord Trimble and Lord Hamilton of Epsom as members.
  • Procedure Select Committee – Lord Bew, Lord Eames, Baroness Falkner of Margravine, Lord Mancroft and Viscount Ullswater have replaced Lord Powell of Bayswater, Lord Rowe-Beddoe, Baroness Humphreys, Lord Brabazon of Tara and Lord True as members.
  • Science and Technology Select Committee – Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist, Lord Browne of Ladyton, Baroness Hilton of Eggardon, Lord Hollick, Baroness Manningham-Buller, Viscount Ridley, Baroness Sheehan and Baroness Walmsley have replaced Lord Renfrew of Kaimsthorn, Lord Hunt of Chesterton, Baroness Morgan of Huyton, Lord Maxton, Lord Oxburgh, Baroness Neville-Jones, Lord Fox and Lord Vallance of Tummel as members.
  • Secondary Legislation Scrutiny Select Committee – Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville, Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts, the Earl of Lindsay, Lord Lisvane and Baroness Watkins of Tavistock have replaced Lord Goddard of Stockport, Lord Trefgarne, Baroness Finn, Lord Janvrin and Baroness O’Loan as members. Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts appointed as chair.
  • Standing Orders (Private Bills) Select Committee – Lord McColl of Dulwich has replaced Lord Goodlad as a member.
  • Statutory Instruments Joint Select Committee – Lord Armstrong of Ilminster, Lord Colgrain and Lord Haskel have replaced Baroness Meacher, Lord Lexden and Lord Rowlands as members.
  • Energy and Environment Sub-Committee – Lord Addington, Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom, Baroness Bryan of Partick, Baroness Byford, Lord Kerr of Kinlochard, Baroness McIntosh of Pickering and Lord Maxton have replaced Viscount Hanworth, Lord Krebs, Lord Rooker, Lord Selkirk of Douglas, Baroness Sheehan, Viscount Ullswater and Baroness Wilcox as members.
  • External Affairs Sub-Committee – Lord Alderdice, Lord Davies of Stamford, Lord Faulkner of Worcester, Baroness Finn, Lord Fraser of Corriegarth, Lord Oates, The Earl of Sandwich and Lord Wood of Anfield have replaced Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top, Lord Dubs, Lord Horam, The Earl of Oxford, Lord Risby, Lord Stirrup, Baroness Suttie and Lord Triesman as members.
  • Financial Affairs Sub-Committee – Baroness Couttie, Lord Sharkey and Lord Turnbull replaced Lord Butler of Brockwell, Baroness Falkner of Margravine and the Earl of Lindsay as members.
  • Home Affairs Sub-Committee – Baroness Jolly, Lord McNally, Baroness Newlove, Baroness Primarolo and Baroness Scott of Bybrook have replaced Lord Haselhurst, Baroness Janke, Baroness Massey of Darwen, Baroness Pinnock and Lord Ribeiro as members.
  • Internal Market Sub-Committee – Lord Berkeley, Lord Carter of Coles, Lord Lilley, Lord Mountevans, Baroness Prashar, Lord Shipley and Lord Vallance of Tummell have replaced Lord Aberdare, Lord German, Lord Liddle, Baroness Noakes, Baroness Randerson, Lord Rees of Ludlow and Lord Whitty (the outgoing Chair) as members. Baroness Donaghy appointed as Chair.
  • Justice Sub-Committee – Lord Anderson of Ipswich, Baroness Deech, Lord Gold, Baroness Gouddie, Baroness Hamwee and Lord Rowlands have replaced Lord Cromwell, Lord Judd, Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws, Baroness Ludford, Baroness Neuberger and Baroness Shackleton of Belgravia as members.

Devolved Authorities

  • Welsh Government: National Infrastructure Commission for Wales – John Lloyd Jones OBE will continue as interim chair of the National Infrastructure Commission for Wales until December 2019.
  • London Assembly: London Sport – Jillian Moore appointed as chair.

Local Authorities

  • By-election Results 4 July: Middlesbrough  – Stephen Hill elected for Park End and Beckfield – Independent gain (caused by the resignation of independent councillor Jan Mohan). Chorley – Val Caunce elected for Eccleston & Mawdesley – Conservative hold (caused by the death of conservative councillor Henry Caunce). Wiltshire – Andrew Bryant elected for Trowbridge Drynham – Liberal Democrat gain (caused by the death of Conservative councillor Graham Payne). Rhonnda Cynon Taf – Eleri Griffiths elected for Rhondda – Plaid Cymru gain (caused by the death of Labour councillor Robert Smith).


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at 

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – 18 September


Share this page