Latest civil service & public affairs moves — June 1

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People


Sign up here to recieve Dods People Moves briefing in your email inbox every week

Government departments

  • Scotland Office – Douglas Ross resigned as parliamentary under-secretary of state.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Nuclear Decommissioning Authority – Ros Rivaz appointed as chair, replacing Tom Smith from 1 September.
  • Ministry of Justice – Nicholas Hopkins has been reappointed as Law Commissioner for property, family and trust law.
  • HM Treasury: National Savings & Investments – Ian Ackerley reappointed as chief executive for three years.
  • Department for Culture, Media and Sport: Natural History Museum – Harris Bokhari and Yadvinder Malhi appointed as trustees. National Portrait Gallery –- Mark Cecil and Chris Grayling appointed as trustees. UK Sport – Chris Pilling and Ismail Amla appointed as board members. British Tourist Authority – Patrick McLoughlin appointed as chair. Visit England – Nick de Bois appointed as chair.

Non-ministerial departments

  • UK Statistics Authority – Richard Dobbs and David Spiegelhalter have been appointed as non-executive board members.
  • Charity Commission – Nick Baker appointed as chief operating officer in August.

Houses of Parliament

  • House of Lords – Lord Woolmer (Labour, life peer) retired on 26 May.
  • House of Commons – Jonathan Edwards had the Plaid Cymru Whip suspended and now sits as an Independent.

Devolved authorities

  • Northern Ireland Government: Industrial Court – Barry Fitzpatrick reappointed as acting chair, and Robin Bell, Barbara Martin, Patrick Masterson and Patricia O'Callaghan as members. Belfast Health and Social Care Trust – Gordon Smyth reappointed as finance non-executive director.
  • Northern Ireland Assembly: Justice Committee – Sinead Bradley replaced Patsy McGlone as a member. Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs Committee – Patsy McGlone replaced Pat Catney as a member.

Local authorities

  • East Devon District Council – Paul Arnott appointed as leader of the council.

Political parties

  • Labour Party – David Evans elected as the general secretary.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

  • Mercy Ships UK – Joanne Balaam named as acting executive director, replacing Lea Milligan.
  • MQ: Transforming Mental Health – Lea Milligan to become chief executive at the end of June.
  • Mencap – Mairi Martin appointed as executive director of transformation.
  • Comic Relief – Eric Salama appointed as chair.
  • The National Brain Appeal – Jackie Ashley appointed as chair.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 20


Share this page