Latest civil service & public affairs moves — June 8

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People


 Sign up here to recieve Dods People Moves briefing in your email inbox every week

Government departments

  • Prime Minister’s Office – Revd Canon Dr Amanda Ford appointed dean of Bristol, following the appointment of the Very Revd Dr David Hoyle MBE as dean of Westminster.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy – Clive Dix appointed as deputy chair of the UK’s Vaccine Taskforce to help lead efforts to find and manufacture a coronavirus vaccine.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Natural England – Rosamund Blomfield-Smith, Kim Shillinglaw, Kerry ten Kate and Peter Unwin appointed non-executive members to the board for three years commencing 1 June.
  • Department for International Trade – Alan Gemmell appointed HM trade commissioner for South Asia. John Edwards appointed HM trade commissioner for China and Hong Kong. Richard Burn temporarily appointed HM trade commissioner for Europe.
  • Ministry of Justice: Children and Family Court Advisory and Support Service – Sally Cheshire’s tenure as interim chair extended until 31 March 2021.
  • Scotland Office – Iain Stewart MP appointed parliamentary under-secretary of state (Mmnister for Scotland). David Duguid MP appointed parliamentary under-secretary of state and government whip (Lord Commissioner of HM Treasury).
  • HM Treasury: Office of Tax Simplification – Professor Judith Freedman CBE appointed to the board, in succession to Paul Johnson CBE.
  • Department for Work and Pensions: Social Security Advisory Committee – Kayley Hignell appointed a member, Grainne McKeever re-appointed as a member for a second term and Jim McCormick’s current appointment extended to October 2020.

Non-ministerial departments

  • Ofcom – Andrew Miller appointed non-executive director to the board of Channel 4 and chair of the channel's audit committee for a term of three years.

House of Lords

  • Lord Rea (Labour, hereditary peer) died on 1 June. A by-election to the House of Lords will take place in due course.
  • Baroness Howe of Idlicote (Crossbench, life peer) retired on 2 June.
  • European Union Committee – Lord Goldsmith and Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd replaced Lord Jay of Ewelme and Lord Morris of Aberavon as members.
  • EU Environment Sub-Committee – Lord Cormack appointed a member.
  • Secondary Legislation Scrutiny Committee – Lord Rennard replaced Lord Kirkwood of Kirkhope as a member.

House of Commons

  • Neale Hanvey MP re-joined the Scottish National Party on 29 May.

Devolved authorities

  • Northern Ireland Government: Consumer Council for Northern Ireland – June Butler, Gerry McCurdy and Alan O'Neill appointed members for a three-year period. Sheila McClelland (chair), Mick McAteer (deputy chair), Noyona Chundur, Lynne Crowther, Sinead Furey and Joan Martin re-appointed for a further three years.

Local authorities

  • South Ayrshire Council – Douglas Campbell resigned as leader of the council.

Political parties

  • Labour Party – Rosie Duffield MP resigned as an opposition whip on 31 May.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Trade associations

  • TheCityUK – former MP Emma Reynolds appointed managing director of public affairs, policy and research.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 28


Share this page