Latest civil service & public affairs moves — March 16

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People


Sign up here to recieve Dods People Moves briefing in your email inbox every week

Government departments

  • Home Office: Christine Elliott appointed interim Chair of the College of Policing, replacing outgoing chair Millie Banerjee CBE.
  • Cabinet Office: Lord Pickles has been announced as the government’s preferred candidate as the chair of the Advisory Committee on Business Appointments (ACOBA).
  • Prime Minister’s Office:Reverend Doctor Andrew Neil Emerton is to succeed the Right Reverend Anthony Porter to the Suffragan See of Sherwood. Anthony Porter is due to retire on the 22 March.
  • Ministry of Justice: Prison Service Pay Review Body – Andrew Dickerson and Paul West have been reappointed as members for three years, until 31 July 2022.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy:Office of Gas and Electricity Markets (Ofgem) – Barry Panayi to start role as non-executive director on 16 March.

Devolved Authorities

  • Northern Ireland Assembly: Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs Committee – Pat Catney replaced John Dallat as a member; Communities Committee – Fra McCann replaced Emma Sheerin as a member; Executive Office Committee – Martina Anderson replaced Fra McCann as a member;  Justice Committee – Emma Rogan replaced Martina Anderson as a member.
  • Northern Ireland Department of Justice: Northern Ireland Policing Board – Michael Atkinson, Janet Gray, Edgar Jardine, Carmel McKinney, Francis McManus and Deirdre Toner have been appointed as independent members, beginning on the 1 April 2020.
  • Scottish Parliament: Public Audit and Post-legislative Scrutiny Committee – Neil Bibby appointed as a member; Audit Scotland – Stephen Boyle has been nominated to replace Caroline Gardner as Auditor General, when her term finishes at the end of June. The appointment is subject to the Queen’s formal appointment.

Local Authorities

  • High Peak Borough Council: Chief executive Simon Baker retired this week with immediate effect.
  • Hartlepool Council: Chief executive Gill Alexander is to stand down later this year.
  • By-election Result 10 March: Wiltshire council – Kevin Daley elected for Till and Wylye Valley – Conservative hold (caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor Darren Henry).
  • By-election Results 12 March: Ashford council – Trish Cornish elected for Park Farm North – Ashford Independent gain (caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor Jo Gideon);South Somerset council – Ollie Patrick elected for Parrett – Liberal Democrat hold (caused by the resignation of Liberal Democrat councillor Tony Vaughan); Stratford-on-Avon council – Manuela Perteghella elected for Welford-on -Avon – Liberal Democrat gain (caused by the death of Independent councillor Peter Barnes); Highland council – Callum Munro elected for Eilean a’ Cheò – Independent gain (caused by the resignation of Independent councillor Ronald MacDonald).


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Trade Associations

  • British Healthcare Trade Association: Dr Simon Festing has been appointed chief executive.

Interest Groups

  • Universities UK: Dr Tony Sewell CBE, Jatin Haria and Sandra Kerr CBE have been appointed as independent expert advisors.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 20


Share this page