Latest civil service & public affairs moves — November 11

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People


Sign up here to recieve Dods People Moves briefing in your email inbox every week

Government departments

  • Wales Office: Alun Cairns resigned as secretary of state for Wales.
  • Home Office: John Woodcock appointed as the UK special envoy for countering violent extremism.
  • Northern Ireland Office: Drainage Council for Northern Ireland - Alan Strong, Andrew Wilson, Brendan Kerr and Bernie Lafferty had their appointments as specialist members extended, Beth Adger, Bernice Swift, Billy Webb, Samuel Cole and Cadogan Enright had their appointments as local council representative members extended, and Jonathan McKee and Angus Kerr appointed as departmental representatives.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Office of Communications – Jonathan Oxley appointed as interim chief executive from the end of November; Royal Armouries - John Procter appointed as chair.
  • HM Treasury: National Savings and Investments – Ed Anderson reappointed as chair of the board; Financial Conduct Authority: Liam Coleman, Alice Maynard and Tommaso Valletti to become non-executive directors; Royal Mint Advisory Committee – Blondell Cluff reappointed; Financial Reporting Council – Andrew Johnston replaced Martin Slack on the conduct committee, and Colin McCarthy-Little appointed to the audit quality review committee.
  • Ministry of Justice: Independent Advisory Panel on Deaths in Custody – Juliet Lyon reappointed as chair; Criminal Procedure Rule Committee - Paul Jarvis and Ed Smyth appointed as members; Cafcass – Caroline Corby reappointed as a board member; Civil Justice Council - Diane Astin, Nicola Critchley, Ian Karet and Matthew Smerdon reappointed as members; Judicial Pensions Board – Russell Agius reappointed.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Small Business Commissioner’s Office: Yvonne Gale has been appointed as non-executive director for finance and procurement; Met Office: Alan Thorpe appointed as a non-executive Director; Public Weather Service Customer Group - Duncan Potts named as chair.
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: David Ward has been appointed High Commissioner to the Independent State of Samoa.

Non-Ministerial Departments

  • Water Services Regulation Authority: Jonson Cox's appointment as chair has been extended.
  • Charity Commission: Sarah Atkinson to leave her director, policy, planning and communications role.

Devolved Authorities

  • National Assembly for Wales: Gareth Bennett left the UK Independence Party and now sits as an Independent.
  • Scottish Parliament: Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body – David Stewart appointed to the body; Solicitors in the Supreme Courts of Scotland (Amendment) Bill Committee – Bill Bowman, Christine Grahame, Monica Lennon and John Mason appointed as members.

House of Commons

  • Lindsay Hoyle was elected as Speaker.

House of Lords

  • Baroness Wilcox of Newport was introduced as a Labour life peer on 4 November.
  • Baroness Blower was introduced as a Labour life peer on 4 November.
  • Lord Choudrey was introduced as a Conservative life peer on 5 November.
  • Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick was introduced as a non-affiliated life peer on 5 November.


  • Labour Party: Tom Watson to stand down as deputy leader on 12 December.

Local Authorities

  • Daventry District Council:  Richard Auger has replaced Chris Millar as council leader.
  • By-election Results 7 November: Croydon Council – Caragh Skipper elected for Fairfield – Labour hold (caused by the resignation of Labour councillor Niroshan Sirisena); Chelmsford Council – Smita Rajesh elected for Marconi – Liberal Democrat hold (caused by the resignation of Liberal Democrat councillor Catherine Finnecy); Cornwall Council – Robin Moorcroft elected for Wadebridge West – Independent gain from Liberal Democrat (caused by the resignation of Liberal Democrat councillor Karen McHugh); Pembrokeshire Council – Stephen Alerman elected for Hundleton – Independent gain from Independent (caused by the death of Independent councillor Margot Bateman); Shetland Council – Stephen Flaws elected for Lerwick South – Independent gain from Independent (caused by the resignation of Independent councillor Beatrice Wishart); Shetland Council – Moraig Lyall elected for Shetland Central – Independent gain from Independent (caused by the resignation of Independent councillor Mark Burgess).


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

  • Social Mobility Foundation: Sarah Atkinson to become chief executive in January.
  • Unicef UK: Nick Roseveare is now the executive director on an interim basis.
  • Children’s Hospices Across Scotland: Rami Okasha to become chief executive in January.
  • Carers Trust: Gareth Howells to become chief executive in December.

Trade Associations

  • Radiocentre – Mike Ireland promoted to become head of public affairs.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 20


Share this page