Latest civil service & public affairs moves — October 14

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People


By Dods People

14 Oct 2019

Sign up here to recieve Dods People Moves briefing in your email inbox every week

Government departments

  • Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government: Colin Bloom has been appointed as faith engagement adviser.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Forestry Commission – Julia Grant was reappointed as a board member for three years.
  • Home OfficeAdvisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs – Alex Stevens resigned as a member. Biometrics and Forensics Ethics Group – Mark Watson-Gandy has replaced Christopher Hughes as chair and Nóra Ni Loideain, Richard Guest, Charles Rabb and Julian Huppert have been named as new members.
  • Cabinet Office  David Halpern reappointed as the What Works national adviser for three years from November.

House of Commons

  • Liberal Democrat Party – Heidi Allen joined. She had been sitting as an Independent and was elected as Conservative.
  • Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments – Maria Caulfield replaced Julia Lopez as a member.

Devolved Authorities

Welsh Parliament

  • Committee on Assembly Electoral Reform  Huw Irranca-Davies, Delyth Jewell and David J Rowlands appointed as members of the new committee.

Welsh Government

  • Natural Resources Wales – David Henshaw to become chair on 1 November, having been in the role on an interim basis.

Northern Ireland Government

  • Invest Northern Ireland – Kevin Holland appointed as chief executive, replacing Alastair Hamilton and starting on 21 October.

Scottish Government

  • Mental Health Tribunal for Scotland  Laura Dunlop named as the new president from 12 October.

Local Authorities

  • St Helen’s Council  Harry Catherall appointed as chief executive on an interim basis.
  • By-election Results 9 October: Basingstoke and Deane Council – Chris Tomblin elected for Bramley and Sherfield – Independent gain from Conservative (caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor Venetia Rowland). Watford Council – Bill Stanton elected for Tudor – Liberal Democrat hold (caused by the resignation of Liberal Democrat councillor Joe Fahmy). Corby Council – Alison Dalziel elected for Beanfield – Labour hold (caused by the death of Labour councillor Mary Butcher).


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

  • National Council for Voluntary Organisations  Sarah Vibert to become director of policy and volunteering in January.
  • Education Endowment Foundation – Becky Francis will replace Kevan Collins as chief executive in 2020.
  • Workers' Educational Association – Simon Parkinson appointed as chief executive and general secretary in December, replacing Ruth Spellman.
  • Allchurches Trust – Rachel Whittington appointed as trust director.
  • Age UK – Vicki Thornton to become chief financial officer.

Trade Associations

  • Universities and Colleges Employers Association  Raj Jethwa will become chief executive on 17 February.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – June 27


Share this page