Latest civil service & public affairs moves — October 7

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People


By Dods People

07 Oct 2019

Sign up here to recieve Dods People Moves briefing in your email inbox every week

Government departments

  • Home Office: Investigatory Powers Commissioner’s Office – Brian Leveson appointed to replace Adrian Fulford as investigatory powers commissioner.
  • HM Treasury: Andrew Jenkins has been appointed as the new Fintech Envoy for Northern Ireland.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Historic England Board - Sue Wilkinson, Helena Hamerow and Ben Derbyshire appointed as commissioners for four years; Office of Communications - Ben Verwaayen reappointed as a board member for four years; Advisory Committee on National Records and Archives - Helen Fordee and Jeannette Strickland reappointed as committee members for two years.
  • Ministry of Justice: Judicial Appointments Commission – Sarah Falk appointed as a senior judicial commissioner for three years.
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Brian Jones has been appointed High Commissioner to Solomon Islands and non-resident High Commissioner to the Republic of Nauru, succeeding David Ward.
  • Northern Ireland Office: Northern Ireland Local Government Officers’ Superannuation Committee - Peter Caldwell, David Jackson, Linda Neilan and Peter McMurray had their appointments extended for six months, or until permanent committee members are appointed.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Financial Reporting Council - Sir Jon Thompson became chief executive; Civil Nuclear Constabulary - Chris Armitt appointed as deputy chief constable.

Non-Ministerial Departments

House of Lords

  • The Lord Bishop of Chester retired on 30 September.
  • Lord Judge became convener of the crossbench Peers, replacing Lord Hope of Craighead, and replaced him as a member on Liaison Committee, Services Committee, Procedure Committee and Selection Committee.
  • Lord Ashton of Hyde replaced Lord Taylor of Holbeach as a Deputy Chairman of Committees, and replaced him as a member on Services Committee, Procedure Committee and Selection Committee.
  • Communications Committee - Baroness Scott of Bybrook and Baroness Meyer replaced Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen and Lord Bethell.
  • Social and Economic Impact of the Gambling Industry Committee - Lord Mancroft replaced Baroness Meyer.
  • Science and Technology Committee - Baroness Rock replaced Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist.
  • Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments - Baroness Newlove replaced Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist.
  • Liaison - Earl Howe replaced Baroness Evans of Bowes Park.

Local Authorities

  • Newport Council: Sheila Davies appointed as interim chief executive.
  • Argyll and Bute Council: Cleland Sneddon to stand down as chief executive.
  • South Lanarkshire Council: Cleland Sneddon to replace Lindsay Freeland.
  • Caerphilly Council: Anthony O’Sullivan removed as chief executive.
  • Sheffield Council: John Mothersole to retire as chief executive.
  • By-election Results 3 September: Aberdeen Council – Sarah Cross (Conservative) and Jessica Mennie (Scottish National Party) elected for Bridge of Don – Conservative and Scottish National Party hold (caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor Brett Hunt and the death of Scottish National Party councillor Sandy Stuart); Cardiff Council – Mia Rees elected for Whitchurch and Tongwynlais – Conservative hold (caused by the death of Conservative councillor Timothy Davies); Charnwood Council – Sue Gerrard elected for Syston West – Conservative hold (caused by the death of Conservative councillor Eric Vardy); Essex Council – Mark Stephenson elected for Clacton East – Independent gain from Independent (caused by the resignation of Independent county councillor David Sargeant); St Albans council – Josie Madoc elected for Clarence – Liberal Democrat hold (caused by the resignation of Liberal Democrat council Caroline Brooke); Somerset West and Taunton Council – Andy Sully elected for Norton Fitzwarren and Staplegrove – Liberal Democrat gain from Independent (caused by the death of Independent councillor Jean Adkins).


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Trade Associations

  • Association of British Insurers: Julian Adams appointed as deputy chair.


  • BP: Bob Dudley to stand down as chief executive and be replaced by Bernard Looney in 2020.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – June 27


Share this page