Latest civil service & public affairs moves — September 23

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People


By Dods People

23 Sep 2019

Sign up here to recieve Dods People Moves briefing in your email inbox every week

Government departments

  • Maggie Throup appointed as a Government Whip.
  • Rachel Maclean appointed as parliamentary private Secretary to Sajid Javid as chancellor.
  • Government Actuary’s Department – Alison White and Ian Wilson began their roles as Non-executive Directors.

House of Commons

  • Sam Gyimah joined the Liberal Democrats; he was previously sitting as an Independent MP.

Devolved Authorities

  • Scottish Parliament: Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform committee – Finlay Carson elected as deputy convener.
  • Scottish Government: Public Health Scotland – Angela Leitch to become chief executive of the new body.

Local Authorities


  • Maidenhead Council – Simon Dudley resigned as leader and David Coppinger took on the role in an interim basis.
  • St Helen’s Council – Mike Palin to stand down as chief executive next week.
  • East Lothian Council – Angela Leitch to stand down as chief executive in December.
  • By-election Results 19 September: Somerset West and Taunton Council – Derek Perry elected for Vivary – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative (caused by the resignation of Catherine Herbert). Wiltshire Council – Suzanne Wickham elected for Ethandune – Conservative hold (caused by the death of Jerry Wickham). Canterbury Council – Ben Fitter-Harding elected for Chestfield – Conservative hold (caused by the death of Jenny Samper). Hammersmith and Fulham Council – Helen Rowbottom elected for Fulham Broadway – Labour hold (caused by the resignation of Alan de’Ath who has taken a politically-restricted job). Liverpool Council – William Shortall elected for Old Swan – Labour hold (caused by the resignation of Peter Brennan after he shared a racist video on WhatsApp). North Lanarkshire Council – Norah Mooney elected for Thorniewood – Labour hold (caused by the resignation of Hugh Gaffney MP).

Industry Associations

  • Chartered Institute of Public Relations – Mandy Pearse chosen as the president-elect for 2020.

Interest Groups

  • The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award – Ruth Marvel to become chief executive in November.
  • Mesothelioma UK – Guy Tewley appointed as corporate fundraising Officer.
  • The Cure Parkinson's Trust – Rick Lay appointed as director of fundraising and marketing.


  • RBS – Alison Rose to become chief executive, replacing Ross McEwan on 1 November.

If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – June 27


Share this page